Young Ospreys named in West Wales side for U20

Eight Eyasses will feature in the WRU U20 East V West trial match at Cross Keys on Wednesday evening (7.00pm).


A combination of development and C group players will participate in the fixture. In the starting line-up are wings Eli Walker and Nathan Brooks, prop Will Taylor and number eight Ben Thomas.

Meanwhile, Luke Morgan, Matthew Morgan, Tom Habberfield and Ollie Pardoe are named among the replacements.

Swansea RFC Coach, and Wales U20 Assistant Coach, Richard Webster, is looking forward to seeing players stand up and be counted:

“Personally, I’ll be looking for some passion from the players and a strong desire to play for Wales Under 20" he said.

"I want them to be as committed as possible in this game which will set the stall for the international season ahead.

“Everyone playing tomorrow has got a chance of making it into the Six Nations squad, and although some players have had good seasons to date, reputations won’t be a guaranteed ticket for selection.”

Webster remembers his own break-through into international rugby at a similar age and has laid down the gauntlet for today’s youngsters to take a leaf our of his book.

“The only trial match I played in was a Welsh Youth trial at Whitland in the winter of 1984/85, along with the likes of Tony Clement and Dai Young," he said. "I was a complete unknown in that match but played my heart out and went from playing for the ‘Whites’ in that game to captaining the ‘Reds’ in the following trial and earning a Welsh Youth cap in my first year of youth rugby. There are players in a similar situation playing at Cross Keys and the chance is there for them to shine.”

Tickets for Wednesday’s game are just £3 and £5 for adults and £2 for Under 16s. They will be available for purchase on match day or by calling 01495 270 280 or 07970 776698.

West Wales: Liam Williams, Eli Walker, Iolo Evans, Rheon James, Nathan Brooks, Steve Shingler, Aled Davies, Rob Evans, Kirby Myhill, Will Taylor, Jon Gardiner, John Barley, Edward Siggery, Lawrence Reynolds, Ben Thomas

Replacements: Luke Morgan, Adam Warren, Matthew Morgan, Tom Habberfield, Rowan Jenkins, Trystan Davies, Sam Parry, Matthew Screech, Ben Davies, Ollie Pardoe, Steff Phillips