WRU Awards Night – Ospreys Region

Volunteers, clubs and schools were celebrated at the inaugural awards evening at the Liberty Stadium last night.

More than 200 people from clubs and schools across Ospreyliaattended the inaugural WRU Awards Night for the Ospreys Region last night. 

The event, designed to reward the volunteers without whom grassroots rugby could not be played, was supported by Natwest and Ospreys in the Community and saw nine awards handed out to people who had been nominated by their fellow clubmen and women. 

Attendees at the evening, hosted by Kev Johns, heard round ups of the season’s activity in mens, womens, junior and youth rugby from across the region as well as being treated to a Q&A with Ospreys Justin Tipuric and Rory Thornton.

Guest speaker for the evening, former Osprey and now WRU Head of Rugby Participation, Ryan Jones brought the evening to a close by giving thanks to the volunteers.

Ben Rose, WRU Regional Rugby Manager commented:

"It's been a fantastic evening here at the Liberty Stadium. It's wonderful to be able to bring together all the brilliant people who give up their time week in, week out to support the game across the region, without them there would be no rugby. 

"I'd like to offer my congratulations to all the nominees and winners, it's great to be able to acknowledge and reward them for all their hard work. I'd also like to say thanks to my team, everyone who helped organise the evening and Natwest and Ospreys in the Community for their support."

Full list of awards:

Hub School of the Year: Cefn Hengoed

Non Hub School of the Year: Llangatwg

Young Leader(s) of the Year: Luke Marques, Dom Marques, Jamie Kirkhouse and Rhys Cottrell – Bishop Gore

Junior Rugby Volunteer of the Year: Linda Daniel -  Dulais Valley

Junior Rugby Referee of the Year: Richard Nuth 

Youth Rugby Volunteer of the Year: Lee Grabham, Bridgend Athletic

Senior Rugby Volunteer of the Year: Huw Thomas, Pontarddulais RFC

Womens Rugby Volunteer of the Year: Adrian Howell, Seven Sisters Ladies

Services to Welsh Rugby Award: Derek ‘Deco’ Davies, Banwen RFC


Pictured are the award winners, Ben Rose WRU Regional Rugby Manager, Mark Douglas Regional Director for Wales Natwest and Kev Johns.