Wizards Chairman to receive freedom of The Borough

Aberavon RFC Chairman, Andrew John, is to receive the Freedom of The Borough Of Neath Port Talbot alongside entertainer Max Boyce and Comedian Colin Price.

Councillors have chosen Glynneath entertainer Max Boyce, Seven Sisters comedian Colin Price and Wizards chief Andrew to be in line to receive this prestigious honour.

Andrew was nominated for his services to the county borough for rugby football and the business community. Max is nominated for his charitable work in the county and in Wales whilst Colin was chosen because of his services in the county borough to charitable causes.

Andrew John said;

“I’m delighted and honoured to receive the award. I’m sure there are many people within the Borough who deserve this far more than me but I’m delighted to accept it on behalf of my wife, Mair and my two daughters Nia and Katie.

“I’m also proud to accept it on behalf of all the staff here at Pump Supplies over the past thirty years and everyone including the players, support staff and supporters at Aberavon RFC, a club with a proud tradition within Welsh rugby and one that I have supported all my life and one that I am honoured to be Chairman of.  I am extremely grateful that Neath Port Talbot Council has decided to make this award which I really do appreciate.”

Seven Sisters councillor Steve Hunt said he wanted to endorse the three nominations. He said:

"All in their own rights they deserve this prestigious award. Andrew is a person who again does not forget his roots. He is a fantastic ambassador for Neath Port Talbot.”

The motion was proposed by Deputy Leader Peter Rees and seconded by cabinet member, Taibach Councillor John Rogers

Everyone associated with Aberavon RFC would like to congratulate Andrew on receiving this prestigious award as he is a great servant to the area of Port Talbot, Rugby Union and his beloved club Aberavon which he loves with a passion.

In 2008, Hollywood actor Michael Sheen was given the freedom of The Borough along with tireless volunteer Margaret Thorne, who was also given the honour along with Bonnie Tyler in 2011.

Andrew Hore, Chief Executive of the Ospreys, added:

"Our congratulations go to Andrew on this deserved honour after many years of service to his local sporting and business community."