Wales U20 ring the changes

Six Ospreys have been included in the Wales U20 matchday 23 to face Georgia on Saturday at Manchester City Academy Stadium, 3.45pm KO.

  • Tom Williams, Joe Thomas and Keelan Giles continue in the starting XV
  • Reuben Morgan Williams, Kieran Williams and Joe Gage all named on the bench
  • Giles (2) and Morgan Williams both scored tries in the 25-26 defeat to Ireland on the opening day 

In total there are eight changes to the starting line-up to the team that lost narrowly to Ireland this week. There is a new front row of Rhys Fawcett, Liam Belcher and Leon Brown, Seb Davies replaces the suspended Adam Beard in the second row, Josh Macleod starts on the openside and behind the scrum there is a new half back pairing of Declan Smith and Jarrod Evans and Billy McBryde starts at inside centre. 

There are four new faces on the bench with Morgan Sieniawski, Kieran Williams, Joe Gage and Jared Rosser who is set to earn his first cap. 

Head Coach, Jason Strange said, “The changes are in order to give players opportunities to develop at this level, and with the four day turnaround in between matches, it’s important every one of our squad plays a full part. This tournament is all about learning and the players are really keen to get back on the pitch and show they have learned lessons from Wednesday’s defeat. Billy (McBryde) has played at inside centre quite a bit and will complement Jarrod well with his passing game and left footed kicking options.

“After an impressive opening 30 minutes on Wednesday, we need to concentrate on getting the basics right tomorrow and if we do that, we know we are a match for anyone.

“Georgia are a physical, committed side. Their scrum half played at last year’s senior Rugby World Cup and their No 8 plays for Clermont so there is no shortage of quality but if we add attacking speed to a good set-piece platform, we know we can show what we are capable of.”


Full match and ticket info:

Wales U20 v Georgia can be watched online on tomorrow

Wales U20 v Georgia:

Rhun Williams (Cardiff Blues); Tom Williams (Ospreys), Joe Thomas (Ospreys), Billy McBryde (Scarlets), Keelan Giles (Ospreys); Jarrod Evans (Cardiff Blues), Declan Smith (Scarlets); Rhys Fawcett (Scarlets), Liam Belcher (Cardiff Blues), Leon Brown (Newport Gwent Dragons), Shane Lewis-Hughes (Cardiff Blues), Seb Davies (Cardiff Blues), Tom Phillips (captain, Scarlets), Josh Macleod (Scarlets) Harrison Keddie (Newport Gwent Dragons)


Replacements: Dafydd Hughes (Scarlets), Corey Domachowski (Cardiff Blues), Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Blues), Morgan Sieniawski (Cardiff Blues) Jared Rosser (Newport Gwent Dragons), Reuben Morgan-Williams (Ospreys), Kieran Williams (Ospreys), Joe Gage (Ospreys)