Wales U20 call on two more Eyasses

Nicky Smith and Jack Jones make it six to start v Scotland at JWC

Jack Jones and Nicky Smith have been added to the starting line-up for Wales U20’s their second Junior World Championship Pool game, against Scotland on Sunday (Nantes, 5pm), taking the number of Eyasses in the XV to six, with one more on the bench.

Head coach, Danny Wilson, has made eight changes in total to the side that beat Samoa 42-3 on Wednesday.

Smith makes his JWC debut along with Scarlets full back Jordan Williams and  Llandovery backs Aaron Warren and Rhodri Williams.

Thomas Pascoe, who played in three games in last year’s tournament, returns to the starting line-up while forwards Elliot Dee, Sion Bennett, along with Jones, get a chance to start after coming on against Samoa, Dee and Bennett scoring tries in that game.                       

Wilson said:

 “We believe we have made relevant changes to keep the squad fresh and reward players who have earned starting places through their performances in training.”

Wilson is understandably satisfied with the return from their opening game, but is conscious of the task ahead.

“A bonus point victory with six tries to boot is a great start,” said the Scarlets forwards coach.

We didn’t pick up any significant injuries so we have a relatively fresh squad at the moment, but there’s still a long way to go.

“Scotland had a tough time against Argentina but they are a good side and will no doubt raise their game.

“They have some dangerous players such as Mark Bennett at 12 who has played for Glasgow in the Rabo Direct and No 8 Adam Ashe so we will have to be aware of their threats. Having said that, if we can play as we did in the Six Nations and against Samoa, I’m confident we can give Scotland a really good test.”

Wales Under 20 v Scotland (Sunday 9 June, Nantes, 5pm):

Jordan Williams (Scarlets / Llanelli); Aaron Warren (Llandovery), Steffan Hughes (Scarlets / Llanelli), Thomas Pascoe (Blues / Pontypridd), Ashley Evans (Ospreys/ Bridgend); Sam Davies (Ospreys / Swansea), Rhodri Williams (Scarlets/ Llandovery); Nicky Smith (Ospreys/ Swansea),Elliot Dee (Dragons / Bedwas), Nicky Thomas (Ospreys / Swansea), Jack Jones (Ospreys / Rovigo), Rhodri Hughes (Ospreys/ Swansea), Ellis Jenkins (capt, Blues / Cardiff), Daniel Thomas (Scarlets / Llanelli), Sion Bennett (Scarlets/ Carmarthen) 

Replacements: Ethan Lewis (Blues / Cardiff), Thomas Davies (Blues /Cardiff), Dan Suter (Ospreys/ Bridgend), Carwyn Jones (Scarlets/ Carmarthen), James Benjamin (Dragons/ Bedwas), Joshua Davies (Dragons / Bedwas), Owen Jenkins (Blues / Pontypridd), Jack Dixon (Dragons)