Wales squad to tour South Africa named

Ospreys skipper Alun Wyn Jones will lead Wales in South Africa next month after being named captain of Warren Gatland's 32-man squad for the trip

The announcement was made to the players and the media following the Wales Senior Trial at the Liberty Stadium in Swansea, which the Probables won 55-7.

Jones is one of six players who will be at the Ospreys next season named in the squad, the others being Scott Baldwin, Adam Jones, Aaron Jarvis, Dan Baker and Dan Biggar. Ian Evans and Matthew Morgan, who are heading to Toulon and Bristol respectively, are also included. It is Morgan's first ever call up for the senior national team.

The squad will depart for South Africa next Thursday (June 5) and will begin the tour with a fixture against Eastern Province Kings in Port Elizabeth on Tuesday June 10.  The first test against the Springboks takes place in Durban on Saturday June 14 with the second a week later in Nelspruit on Saturday June 21.

Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues)
Paul James (Bath)
Adam Jones (Ospreys)
Rhodri Jones (Scarlets)
Samson Lee (Scarlets)
Aaron Jarvis (Ospreys)
Ken Owens (Scarlets)
Matthew Rees (Cardiff Blues)
Scott Baldwin (Ospreys)
Alun Wyn Jones (Capt) (Ospreys)
Luke Charteris (Perpignan)
Jake Ball (Scarlets)
Ian Evans (Ospreys)
Aaron Shingler (Scarlets)
Josh Turnbull (Scarlets)
Dan Lydiate (Racing Metro)
Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons)
Dan Baker (Ospreys)

Mike Phillips (Racing Metro)
Gareth Davies (Scarlets)
Rhodri Williams (Scarlets)
Dan Biggar (Ospreys)
James Hook (Perpignan)
Steven Shingler (Scarlets)
Jonathan Davies (Scarlets)
Jamie Roberts (Racing Metro)
Cory Allen (Cardiff Blues)
Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues)
George North (Northampton Saints)
Jordan Williams (Scarlets)
Matthew Morgan (Ospreys)
Liam Williams (Scarlets)