Wales reduce training squad

Three Ospreys are among the eight players being released back to their clubs after Wales coach, Warren Gatland, reduced his Rugby World Cup training squad to 38 players.

The squad of 38 will return to the WRU National Centre of Excellence on Monday (17th August) to continue their preparations.

Nicky Smith, Rory Thornton and Dan Baker have been released along with Richard Hibbard, Mike Phillips, Rhys Patchell, James Hook and Jack Dixon.

The Ospreys still have 10 players in the squad, which remains the largest contingent of any one team.

“It’s been a difficult task reducing the squad down and deciding who will meet up with us again on Monday,” said Wales head coach Warren Gatland.

“All the players involved over the past eight weeks have put a huge amount of effort in.  The intensity and dedication from the players out in Switzerland and Qatar has been really impressive.

“That makes our job a lot harder but as we continue to move into our rugby focused phase of training its important we reduce the squad number down.

“There will be disappointment from the players but its important to stress that the door is not closed.  We name our final Rugby World Cup squad on August 31st and a lot can happen between now and then.

“As a squad we will now meet up again on Monday to continuing preparing for Ireland away which is just over a fortnight away.”

Wales Training Squad (38)

Forwards (21)

Scott Andrews (Cardiff Blues)

Rob Evans (Scarlets)

Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs)

Paul James (Ospreys)

Aaron Jarvis (Ospreys)

Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues)

Samson Lee (Scarlets)

Scott Baldwin (Ospreys)

Kristian Dacey (Cardiff Blues)

Ken Owens (Scarlets)

Jake Ball (Scarlets)

Luke Charteris (Racing Metro)

Bradley Davies (Wasps)

Dominic Day (Bath)

Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys)

Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons)

James King (Ospreys)

Dan Lydiate (Ospreys)

Ross Moriarty (Gloucester)

Justin Tipuric (Ospreys)

Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues)


Backs (17)

Gareth Davies (Scarlets)

Rhys Webb (Ospreys)

Lloyd Williams (Cardiff Blues)

Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues)

Dan Biggar (Ospreys)

Rhys Priestland (Scarlets)

Cory Allen (Cardiff Blues)

Tyler Morgan (Newport Gwent Dragons)

Jamie Roberts (Harlequins)

Scott Williams (Scarlets)

Hallam Amos (Newport Gwent Dragons)

Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues)

Leigh Halfpenny (Toulon)

Matthew Morgan (Bristol)

George North (Northampton Saints)

Eli Walker (Ospreys)

Liam Williams (Scarlets).