Wales name unchanged team

Wales have named an unchanged starting XV from the side that drew with Ireland on the opening weekend of the RBS 6 Nations to take on Scotland on Saturday.

  • Biggar recovers from ankle injury that forced him off last Sunday to retain the 10 shirt
  • Alun Wyn Jones, Scott Baldwin and Justin Tipuric also start, with Dan Lydiate again on the bench
  • Wales v Scotland kicks off at 4.50pm on Saturday

Dan Biggar has recovered from an ankle injury, which forced him from the field at the Aviva Stadium, to start Wales’ second game of the championship whilst Jonathan Davies will win his 50th cap in the midfield.

Wales’ first game at Principality Stadium will see Gareth Davies and Biggar continue their partnership at half-back with Davies lining up once again alongside Jamie Roberts in the midfield.

The back three remains the same from the side that started in Dublin with Tom James and George North on the wings and Liam Williams at full-back.

The forwards remain unchanged with Scarlets props Rob Evans and Samson Lee packing down alongside Scott Baldwin in the front-row. Luke Charteris and Alun Wyn Jones start their fourth consecutive match together in the second-row.

Captain Sam Warburton continues at blindside flanker with Justin Tipuric at seven and Taulupe Faletau at number eight.


“It’s great to be able to name an unchanged side, with Dan coming through, fit and ready to play,” said Gatland.

“It’s a reward for some players who put in a great shift in Dublin whilst we will be asking a little more of some of the players as well.

“It’s great to see Jonathan reach his 50th cap and continue his impressive international partnership with Jamie in the midfield.

“We were impressed with the impact form the bench last week and that will be just as vital this weekend in what is going to be a tough battle.”

On the bench Ken Owens, Gethin Jenkins and Tomas Francis provide the front-row cover. Bradley Davies who made his 50th appearance for Wales in Dublin and Dan Lydiate round off the forward contingent. Lloyd Williams, Rhys Priestland and Gareth Anscombe provide the backline cover.

Wales team to play Scotland:

Liam Williams (Scarlets), George North (Northampton Saints), Jonathan Davies (ASM Clermont), Jamie Roberts (Harlequins), Tom James (Cardiff Blues), Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Gareth Davies (Scarlets); Rob Evans (Scarlets), Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Luke Charteris (Racing 92), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues, CAPT), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons).

Replacements: Ken Owens (Scarlets), Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs), Bradley Davies (Wasps), Dan Lydiate (Ospreys), Lloyd Williams (Cardiff Blues), Rhys Priestland (Bath Rugby), Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues).