Wales name U18 6N squad

Wales have named their squad for the inaugural U18 Six Nations, which starts this Saturday in Ystrad Mynach.

The best young players in their age group - that is, under 18 on Jan 1 2018 - from England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland and hosts Wales will each play three games on March 31, April 4 and April 8. Each matchday will comprise of three U18 internationals: the first taking place at the CCB Centre for Sporting Excellence in Ystrad Mynach, with the other two held at Cardiff Arms Park.

"Every match will expose the players to different styles of play and test the players but our big focus will be on ourselves," says head coach Chris Horsman. "We want to provide an environment to enable the players to improve in the long-term by giving them the tools and skills to work out how to do this for themselves."

The aim of the festival is to provide a competitive and professional environment to help develop the top players in their age group from each country, while the national teams will also spend some time with host clubs, interacting with local mini and junior players and helping out at club coaching sessions on April 5.

Wales U18 were in action on Sunday when they took on England at Sardis Road in a pre-tournament friendly. "It's always disappointing to lose as we did last weekend against England but every match is a learning process," says Horsman. "Of our last six matches against England we have won three each and the key thing is to have matches like that to learn from.

"The support was fantastic in Pontypridd and hopefully the players will be well supported in Ystrad Mynach and Cardiff Arms Park, because it's so important for them on their journey."

Wales will face France first up in Ystrad Mynach, followed by Ireland and Italy at the Arms Park. For more tournament information - including matchday schedules - click here.

Wales squad for the U18 Six Nations:

Forwards: Robert Brookson (Coleg Gwent/Dragons) Ben Carter (Caldicot/Dragons) Ioan Rhys Davies (Coleg y Cymoedd/Cardiff Blues) Archie Griffin (Marlborough College/Exiles) Will Griffiths (Coleg Gwent/Dragons)

Cameron Lewis (Coleg Sir Gar/Ospreys) Jac Morgan (Coleg Sir Gar/Scarlets) Jac Price (Coleg Sir Gar/Scarlets) William Sanderson (Coleg Llandrillo/RGC) Carwyn Tuipulotu (Sedbergh School/Exiles) Olly White (Llandovery College/RGC) Callum Williams (Ysgol Maes Y Gwendraeth/Scarlets) Teddy Williams (Ysgol Gantaf/Cardiff Blues) Luke Yendle (Newport High/Dragons)

Backs: Ellis Bevan (Bryanston/Exiles) Dafydd Buckland (Newport High/Dragons) Sam Costelow (Oakham School/Exiles) Harri Doel (Coleg Sir Gar/Scarlets) Frankie Jones (Neath-Port Talbot College/Ospreys) Osian Knott (Coleg Sir Gar/Scarlets) Evan Lloyd (Coleg Gwent/Dragons) Ioan Lloyd (Clifton College/Exiles) Aneurin Owen (Ysgol Gyfun Gwynllyw/Dragons) Louis Rees-Zammit (Hartpury College/Exiles) Joe Roberts (Coleg Sir Gar/Scarlets) Josh Thomas (Ysgol Gyfun Gwyr/Ospreys)