U16 teams to enjoy their finals day

Llandarcy Academy of Sport will host another Ospreys Cup Final day on Sunday, as the best U16 teams from around Ospreylia compete for silverware.

The Ospreys Cup is a competition that involves all the local clubs from all around Ospreylia at U15 and U16 level. There are three tiers in the competition so we can provide all standards of teams with competitive matches and the chance to win a trophy.

Six teams have battled their way through the groups and knockout stages to participate in what will be a memorable occasion for the up and coming rugby stars of Ospreylia.

A local derby will kick off the day at 11am as Bridgend-based teams, Pencoed and Tondu, will compete in the Shield final.
Pencoed overcame a tough Morriston challenge in their semi-final, winning the game by 3 points. Tondu racked up 48 points in their semi-final game, conceding only one try against an effortful Gorseinon.

The Plate Final will follow at 1pm, as Aberavon Quins and Nantyfyllon lock horns in what should be a strong encounter.
Quins were involved in a high scoring game with Tonna as they made the final. Not a single point was conceded by Nantyfyllon when they played Porthcawl, as they advanced to finals day at Llandarcy.

To conclude the day, the big Cup final will be contested by two Swansea teams at 3pm. Abercrave will be hoping to lift the trophy as they face Swansea Uplands, who are more than hopeful to get their hands on the silverware themselves.
Bridgend Athletic provided difficult opposition for Abercrave in the semi, but a 26-17 victory saw them through to the final.

The final was complete when the Uplands team swept aside a difficult Mumbles team.


Tondu squad; Thom Rees, Joe Symons, Lewis Gibson, Morgan Jenkins, James Harris, Darian James, Paul Short, Callum Smeaton , Ethan Davies, Scott Laken, Owen Watkin, Ashley Cocks, Harri Legg-Edwards, Richard Jenkins, Ryan Watkins, Morgan Parry, Daniel Evans (C), James Leppard, Oliver Holt-Larsen, Rhys Anderson, Raymond Buckpitt, Jonathan Russell.

Aberavon Quins squad; Luke Davies, Tyler Hopkins, Michael Burgess, Rhys Livingstone, Jack Coughlin, Conor O’Callaghan, Dylan McLaughlin, Quade Boal, Jacob Flynn, Kieran Davies, Keanu Piles, Jack Dacey, Calvin Wellington, Regan Grace, Callum Beynon, Kyle Williams, Daniel Helson, Jonathan Thomas, Harley Evans, Corey Bradley, Aris Koulzilakis, Nathan Robins, Thomas Elward, Ryan Phillips, Lee Evans.

Nantyfyllon squad; Ryan Baitup, Bradley Howells, Lewis Francis, Gethin John (C), Scott Lyons, Rhodri Irrranca Davies, Connor Griffith, Ricky Davies, Cameron Jones, Rhodri Davies, Corey Healey, Lewis Jenkins, Josh Mines, Lloyd Pritchard, Morgan Lloyd, Sam Mines, Mikey Brain, Gareth Clements, Jack Jones, Jordan Collins, Tyler Handley.

Abercrave squad; John Chenyank, Kurtis Leadbeater, Ben Paddington, Joe Foster, Dan Hains, James Bain, Curtis Williams, Gavin Jones, Steffan Caines, Luke Price, Alex Davies, Martyn Davies, Dylan Harris, Adam Green, Will Thomas, Jack Holland, Alix Williams, Rhys Mails, Damien Hodge, Aaron Ace, Joe Gauge, Kieran Bevan, Jack Flanagan, Callum Edwards.

Swansea Uplands squad; James Lewis, Lewis Eynon, Tom Evans, Elliot Clement, Osian Griffiths, Mascen Owen, HuwStrafford, Jack Rosser, Callum Bowden, Micah Pugh, Morgan Banner, Jack Moyse, Adam Evans, Michael Evans, Luke Cardone, Mathew Jones, Mitch Drewson, Rhodri Irvine, Nicky Jones, Taylor Aspland.