Three Ospreys make 2013 RaboDirect PRO12 DreamTeam

The Ospreys trio of Adam Jones, Alun Wyn Jones and Justin Tipuric have been named in this year's RaboDirect PRO12 Dream Team.

It's the fourth time that Alun Wyn has made the cut since the first Dream Team was announced back at the end of 2006/07, with Adam included for a third time, testament to their reliability and consistency in an Ospreys shirt over the years. For Tipuric, it's a second time for him after he made his first appearance in the XV last season.

Three more of the 24 British & Irish Lions selected by Warren Gatland to tour Hong Kong and Australia later this month have been chosen, the two youngest members of the 125thanniversary tour party, Glasgow Warriors full back Stuart Hogg and Scarlets wing George North, joining Scarlets centre Jonathan Davies in the three-quarter line.

Tipuric and Edinburgh Rugby wing Tim Visser are the only survivors from the 20112 RaboDirect PRO12 Dream Team and for the first time in the three seasons in which there have been Italian clubs represented in the tournament, two of their players have been chosen.

Benetton Treviso forwards Leonardo Ghiraldini and Alessandro Zanni both feature in the RaboDirect PRO12 Dream Team pack as the efforts of their club in finishing seventh overall is reflected in their selection.

Visser may have been pipped by Tommy Bowe to become the first player to score 50 tries in the RaboDirect PRO12, but he retains his place for the fourth successive year in the RaboDirect PRO12 Dream Team with the highest number of individual votes of any player, 12.

Once again the voting was carried out by the media from the four competing countries and no fewer than 81 players received nominations across the 15 positions. Players from all RaboDirect PRO12 clubs were nominated.

Joining Visser as clear-cut winners in their positions are Leinster outside half Ian Madigan, who polled 11 votes following his wonderful season, Scarlets wing George North (10), flanker Tipuric (8) and Ulster No 8 Nick Williams (7).

Last year's RaboDirect Young Player of the Year', Hogg, enjoyed a dramatic leap as he was selected for the first time in the RaboDirect PRO Dream Team,.Glasgow Warriors lock Al Kellock also made a return to the side having appeared once before in 2009/10.

The RaboDirect PRO12 Awards night is in Dublin on Sunday when the 'Player of the Year', 'Coach of the Year' and 'Young Player of the Year' will be announced.


Full Back Stuart Hogg Glasgow Warriors

Right Wing George North Scarlets

Centre Luke Marshall Ulster Rugby

Centre Jonathan Davies Scarlets

Left Wing Tim Visser Edinburgh Rugby

O/Half Ian Madigan Leinster Rugby

S/Half Nika Watawalu Glasgow Warriors

LH Prop Ryan Grant Glasgow Warriors

Hooker Leonardo Ghiraldini Benetton Treviso

TH Prop Adam Jones Ospreys

Lock Alun Wyn Jones Ospreys

Lock Al Kellock Glasgow Warriors

Flanker Alessandro Zanni Benetton Treviso

Flanker Justin Tipuric Ospreys

No 8 Nick Williams Ulster Rugby

TEAMS (7)Glasgow Warriors 4, Ospreys 3, Benetton Treviso 2, Ulster Rugby 2, Scarlets 2, Leinster Rugby 1, Edinburgh Rugby 1



Isa Nacewa (Leinster); Tim Visser (Edinburgh), Casey Laulala (Cardiff Blues), Ashley Beck (Ospreys), Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues); Duncan Weir (Glasgow Warriors), Ruan Pienaar (Ulster); Jon Welsh (Glasgow Warriors), Richardt Strauss (Leinster), BJ Botha (Munster), Dan Tuohy (Ulster), Tom Ryder (Glasgow Warriors), Dave Denton (Edinburgh), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Ben Morgan (Scarlets)

Teams (8):Glasgow Warriors 3, Leinster 2, Cardiff Blues 2, Ospreys 2, Ulster 2, Edinburgh 2, Scarlets 1, Munster 1,

DREAM TEAM 2010/11

Isa Nacewa (Leinster), Fionn Carr (Connacht), Casey Laulala (Cardiff Blues), Jonathan Davies (Scarlets), Tim Visser (Edinburgh); Ronan O'Gara (Munster), Ruan Pienaar (Ulster); Iestyn Thomas (Scarlets), Richardt Strauss (Leinster), Mike Ross (Leinster), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors), Sean O'Brien (Leinster), Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster)

Teams (9):Leinster 5, Cardiff Blues 2, Scarlets 2, Munster 1, Connacht 1 Ospreys 1, Ulster 1, Glasgow Warriors 1, Edinburgh 1

DREAM TEAM 2009/10

Ben Blair (Cardiff Blues); Tommy Bowe (Ospreys), Brian O'Driscoll (Leinster), James Hook (Ospreys), Tim Visser (Edinburgh); Dan Parks (Glasgow Warriors), Tomas O'Leary (Munster); Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Ken Owens (Scarlets), Adam Jones (Ospreys), Leo Cullen (Leinster), Ali Kellock (Glasgow Warriors), Jerry Collins (Ospreys), John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster)

Teams (7):Ospreys 4, Glasgow Warriors 3, Leinster 3, Blues 2, Edinburgh 1, Munster 1, Scarlets 1

DREAM TEAM 2008/09

Lee Byrne (Ospreys); Tommy Bowe (Ospreys), Brian O'Driscoll (Leinster), Lifeimi Mafi (Munster), Leigh Halfpenny (Cardiff Blues); Ronan O'Gara (Munster), Mike Phillips (Ospreys); Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Jerry Flannery (Munster), Adam Jones (Ospreys), Paul O'Connell (Munster), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Rocky Elsom (Leinster), Martyn Williams (Cardiff Blues), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster)

Teams (4):Ospreys 5, Munster 4, Leinster 3, Blues 3

DREAM TEAM 2007/08

Ben Blair (Cardiff Blues); Tommy Bowe (Ulster), Lifeimi Mafi (Munster), Nick de Luca (Edinburgh), Shane Williams (Ospreys); Felipe Contepomi (Leinster), Mike Blair (Edinburgh); Ollie Le Roux (Leinster), Bernard Jackman (Leinster), Stan Wright (Leinster), Malcolm O'Kelly (Leinster), Leo Cullen (Leinster), Ryan Jones (Ospreys), Martyn Williams (Cardiff Blues), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster)

Teams (6):Leinster 7, Blues 2, Edinburgh 2, Ospreys 2, Munster 1, Ulster 1

DREAM TEAM 2006/07

Ben Blair (Cardiff Blues); Denis Hickie (Leinster), Regan King (Scarlets), Gordon D'Arcy (Leinster), Shane Williams (Ospreys); Felipe Contepomi (Leinster), Mike Phillips (Cardiff Blues); Iestyn Thomas (Scarlets), Matthew Rees (Scarlets), Euan Murray (Glasgow Warriors), Justin Harrison (Ulster), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Simon Easterby (Scarlets), Colin Charvis (Dragons), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster)

Teams (7):Leinster 4, Scarlets 4, Blues 2, Ospreys 2, Ulster 1, Dragons 1, Glasgow 1