Teams waiting on 2012/13 Heineken Cup draw

The Ospreys will find out their opposition in next season's Heineken Cup when the draw for the pool stage takes place at the Aviva Stadium, Dublin on Tuesday, 12 June (11.00am).

The pool draw for the 24 qualified clubs, which will be streamed live on, will launch the countdown to the Dublin 2013 Heineken Cup final at the same venue on Saturday, 18 May.?? 

Champions Leinster are joined in Tier 1 by three other Heineken Cup winners in Toulouse, Munster Rugby and Northampton Saints, while Biarritz Olympique and Cardiff Blues complete the top tier of six clubs.

Once the Tier 1 clubs have each been allocated a different pool, no club from the same tier will be drawn in the same pool, and no pool will have more than one club from the same country with the exception of France, as there are seven French clubs in next season’s competition.

Exeter Chiefs from England have qualified for the first time while a second Italian club will be nominated by the Italian Federation.

2012/13 Heineken Cup clubs and tiers

Tier 1 – Leinster Rugby, Toulouse, Biarritz Olympique, Munster Rugby, Cardiff Blues, Northampton Saints

Tier 2 – ASM Clermont Auvergne, Ulster Rugby, Leicester Tigers, Harlequins, Toulon, Edinburgh Rugby

Tier 3 – Ospreys, Scarlets, Glasgow Warriors, Saracens, Connacht Rugby, Sale Sharks

Tier 4 – Castres Olympique, Benetton Treviso, Racing Metro 92, Montpellier, Exeter Chiefs, Italian club (to be confirmed)

  • The draw for the 2012/13 Heineken Cup pools will take place at the Aviva Stadium, Dublin on Tuesday, 12 June at 11.00am

We will carry the full draw plus instant reaction from the Ospreys camp on Tuesday.