T20 team confirmed

The Ospreys have named their team for Friday night’s 20/20 challenge match against Mumbles Cricket Club.

Ben John, the six-hitting match-winner from the last clash two summers ago, will again feature in a team that also includes young fly-half, Sam Davies, who took two spectacular catches as the Ospreys secured a memorable win against the Swalec Premier Cricket League side. 

Another hero of the 2011 win, top scorer Hanno Dirksen who hit 41, will take his place as one of the umpires on the evening as he continues his rehab from knee surgery.

The now traditional pre-season fixture was first played in 2009, Mumbles romping to a comfortable 41 run victory, the Ospreys winning in 2011, with the 2010 and 2012 matches rained off.

Mumbles' picturesque Marespool Ground at Plunch Lane will play host to the contest, with the first over to be bowled at 4.00pm, weather permitting.

Admission will be just £3 with free admission for U16's, and facilities for supporters on the night will include a barbecue and bar facility, with proceeds from entry and a collection on the night going to the Ospreys’ official 2013/14 charity, Velindre Cancer Centre’s Victory Over Cancer campaign.

Ospreys Head Coach, Steve Tandy, said that team preparation is going well:

“The team have been getting some practice in, between rugby sessions, and things are starting to come together. The boys are looking forward to it.

“If the weather stays as it has been then it should be a fantastic evening. It’s great for the team to be able to get out into the community for something like this, having some fun while helping to raise much needed funds for such a fantastic cause as the Victory Over Cancer campaign.”

Ospreys XI

Ben John

Sam Davies

Matthew Jenkins

Sam Lewis

Joe Rees

Tom Smith

Ross Jones

Matt Dwyer

Tom Habberfield

Matthew Morgan

Craig Maloney


Mumbles Cricket Club's history extends over 100 years and today it fields three League XIs on Saturday's, a Midweek League XI, and seven Junior League sides, with the first team competing in the Swalec Premier Cricket League. In 2008, the club was awarded with the prestigious ECB Clubmark accreditation. The Marespool ground has Minor Counties status after hosting one-day cup fixtures for Wales.


Please note that, for this game, there will be no parking facilities available within the ground itself.