Seven Ospreys named for England clash

The Ospreys have the largest representation in Warren Gatland’s first matchday 23 of the 2015 RBS 6 Nations, with four starters named and a further three on the bench.

The in-form half-back pairing of Dan Biggar and Rhys Webb are joined by Alun Wyn Jones and Dan Lydiate in the pack, with a further three forwards on the bench in Scott Baldwin, Aaron Jarvis and Justin Tipuric for Friday night’s opener against England at the Millennium Stadium.

Captain Sam Warburton will win his 50th cap against England while Richard Hibbard and George North return to the starting line-up in the only two changes to Gatland’s last team.

"We decided to name the team early to give the players the best possible chance of preparation”, said Gatland.

"It was a tough call on the two changes we have made from the side that beat South Africa, but its good to have these and other tough selection decisions and it's a strong position to be in.

"We are excited about kicking the tournament off on Friday against a strong England side in front of a packed Millennium Stadium.”


Leigh Halfpenny (Toulon), Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), Jonathan Davies (ASM Clermont Auvergne), Jamie Roberts (Racing Metro), George North (Northampton Saints), Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Rhys Webb (Ospreys), Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Richard Hibbard (Gloucester), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Dan Lydiate (Ospreys), Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues, CAPT), Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons).

Replacements: Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Paul James (Bath Rugby), Aaron Jarvis (Ospreys), Luke Charteris (Racing Metro), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Mike Phillips (Racing Metro), Rhys Priestland (Scarlets), Liam Williams (Scarlets).