Seven (+1) Ospreys make Wales tour

Wales Head Coach, Robin McBryde, has named seven Ospreys in his summer tour squad with 21-year old lock, Adam Beard, gaining in his first-ever senior international call-up.

  • Birchgrove RFC product Beard is included in a Wales senior squad for first time after previously representing his country at age-grade
  • Uncapped duo Giles and Thornton are also included, along with Baldwin, Davies, King and Smith
  • Summer arrival Cory Allen is also named in the squad to face Tonga and Samoa 
  • Four Ospreys will also tour New Zealand this summer with the Lions

He is joined in the 32-man squad by two more recent graduates of the regional development pathway in Keelan Giles and Rory Thornton, both of whom have featured in previous squads.

Also included are Scott Baldwin, James King, Nicky Smith and Sam Davies, while an ‘eighth Osprey’ features in centre, Cory Allen, who has signed for the region for next season and will report for duty at Llandarcy Academy of Sport this summer.

Four Ospreys will also be on duty in New Zealand with the British & Irish Lions.

Jamie Roberts will captain Wales on their two-test summer tour, as head coach Robin McBryde names his 32-man squad for the campaign.

Wales take on Tonga on Friday 16th June at Eden Park (17:30 local time) as part of a thrilling double-header, followed by New Zealand versus Samoa. A week later, McBryde's men face Samoa in Apia on Friday 23rd June (19:30).

The squad features no fewer than 13 uncapped players, almost all of whom have come through the Wales U20 pathway. Eight of the newcomers are in the forwards: Adam Beard, Seb Davies, Ryan Elias, Ollie Griffiths, Wyn Jones, Rory Thornton and Thomas Young. In the backs, Aled Davies, Steff Evans, Keelan Giles, Owen Williams, Rhun Williams and Tomos Williams will all be aiming towards making their international debuts.

"We've got a good mix of experience and youth in this squad," says McBryde. "The senior players will be expected to display their leadership qualities, and we want the younger men to show they've got what it takes to handle the intense international environment."


Forwards: Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Adam Beard (Ospreys), Kristian Dacey (Cardiff Blues), Seb Davies (Cardiff Blues), Ryan Elias (Scarlets), Rob Evans (Scarlets), Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs), Ollie Griffiths (Newport Gwent Dragons), Cory Hill (Newport Gwent Dragons), Ellis Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Wyn Jones (Scarlets), James King (Ospreys), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues), Nicky Smith (Ospreys), Rory Thornton (Ospreys), Thomas Young (Wasps). 

Backs: Cory Allen (Cardiff Blues), Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues), Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), Aled Davies (Scarlets), Gareth Davies (Scarlets), Sam Davies (Ospreys), Steff Evans (Scarlets), Keelan Giles (Ospreys), Tyler Morgan (Newport Gwent Dragons), Jamie Roberts (captain, Harlequins), Owen Williams (Leicester Tigers), Rhun Williams (Cardiff Blues), Scott Williams (Scarlets), Tomos Williams (Cardiff Blues).