Quartet of Eyasses ready for U20 action

Four Eyasses will start for Wales U20 against Ireland on Friday when they kick off their Six Nations campaign at Dubarry Park (KO 7.05pm).

Full back Ross Jones, wing Luke Morgan, fly-half Sam Davies and lock Rhodri Hughes have been included in the XV, with a fifth young Osprey, tight head Daniel Suter, named among the replacements.

Five players return from last years’ squad, while 10 players will earn their first caps. Head Coach, Danny Wilson, is fully aware that Ireland will be looking for revenge after their defeat to Wales in the final game of last years’ IRB Junior World Championships in Treviso when they beat the Irish 38-24.

“We are prepared and looking forward to facing Ireland on Friday. The first game of the tournament is always an exciting fixture,” said Wilson.

“Training has been really good this week. Players have been able to train with us more and we’ve seen a real benefit from that.


15 Ross Jones

14 Iolo Evans

13 Nathan Edwards

12 Cory Allen

11 Luke Morgan

10 Sam Davies

9 Jonathan Evans

1 Rob Evans

2 Kirby Myhill

3 WillGriff John

4 Matthew Screech

5 Rhodri Hughes

6 Ellis Jenkins

7 Daniel Thomas

8 Reuben Thomas


16 Jamie Sollis

17 Thomas Davies

18 Dan Suter

19 Dan Crimmins

20 Ieuan Jones

21 Joshua Davies

22 Lewis Williams

23 Luke Williams