Play-off win sees Bridgend return to

Bridgend booked their place back in the Principality Premiership with a stunning second half display in the Principality Premiership promotion / relegation play-off final against Glamorgan Wanderers, securing a 38-19 win

It was a game of contrasting halves, the first all about the boot while the second was all about the Bridgend backline with Luke Morgan and Ross Jones both grabbing a brace of tries

The Wanderers performed well on the evening and will be disappointed to lose their Premiership status

It was a nervy opening first forty minutes in the Welsh capital, understandably with so much riding on the outcome of the game.

In the tight exchanges at Cardiff Arms Park it was the battle of the kickers and the Wanderers went into the break 9 v 6 ahead thanks to three penalties from the boot of Gareth Cull compared to two kicks from Bridgend’s Dan Griffiths.

First, just a minute into the second half Griffiths levelled up the scores with his third penalty.

The Wanderers then sparked life into the game as Josh Navidi crossed for the games opening try.   A powerful run off the base of the scrum from captain Lee Highgate set up the field position for the Wanderers and Navidi, who’s try last weekend against Ebbw Vale secured them passage through to today’s final, touched down.

Bridgend fought straight back through winger Luke Morgan.  He combined with Ross Jones at the back and then broke clear, running a fantastic line to touch down.  Griffiths’ conversion once again leveled the scores.

Jones then crossed for two tries of his own in quick succession on the back of a dominating period by the Ravens, to give them a big advantage.

Cull kicked a further penalty for the Wanderers but that was cancelled out by a Griffiths strike with ten minutes remaining.

 Morgan crossed for his second try late on to seal the victory and promotion.

Bridgend Player/Coach Steve Tandy led by example, taking the man-of-the-match award.

Glamorgan Wanderers:
Gareth Cull, Rory Budina, Rhys Howells, Morris, Tomas Marks, Tom Rowland, Marc Thomas, Ryan Prosser, Mark O’Leary, Richard Thomas, Reuben Tucker, Josh Navidi, Nick Hampson, Lee Highgate (Captain)

Replacements: Marc Sheppard, James Monck, Alistair McDonald, Ed Morris, Ceri Llewellyn, Tim Cronin, Lewis Williams.

Ross Jones, Luke Morgan, Nathan Edwards, Gareth Howells, Steve Cullen, Dan Griffiths, Tom Habberfield, Ken Dowding, Rhys Hewitt, Johnathan Thomas, Lloyd Peers, Kyle Maiden, Steve Tandy, Ben Rose, Ioan Cunningham (Capt)

Replacements: Owen Williams, Owen Cotton, Luke Probert, Adam Hillier-Rees, John Leyshon, James Dixon, Tom Grabham.