Phillips to lead Wales women

Skewen and Ospreys hooker Carys Phillips will captain Wales Women against Scotland at the Gnoll on Sunday (2pm).


Phillips is one of nine Ospreys named in a matchday squad featuring a nimber of changes due to injury. 

Regular captain Rachel Taylor is ruled out after suffering a rib injury against Ireland in the opening game against Ireland while centre Kerin Lake suffered concussion.

Alisha Butchers and Siwan Lillicrap, who both made their debuts from the bench last weekend, have been included in the starting XV at flanker and second row respectively.

Sioned Harries has been switched from lock to Number 8 while Sian Williams swaps sides on the scrum and moves to blindside flanker.

Due to Lake’s absence, Robyn Wilkins moves from fly half to inside centre with Hannah Jones switching to outside centre with experienced Elinor Snowsill coming in at fly half.

The other changes see Dyddgu Hywel starting at full back with Adi Taviner switching to wing.

“Although disappointed with the opening loss to Ireland, we were pleased with certain aspects of the game looking ahead to Scotland. Our defence in particular stood up well against a very good Irish attack. We need to show what we can do with ball in hand now, and threaten the Scottish defence more. This will allow us to score tries.

“Alisha and Siwan both made an impact from the bench last weekend to earn their starting spots while we’re also fortunate to be able to bring someone with Elinor’s experience back into the fold in the backline,” said Edwards.

Wales Women v Scotland Women, the Gnoll, Sunday 14th February (KO 2pm)

15 Dyddgu Hywel (Scarlets/ Pontyclun)

14 Adi Taviner (Ospreys / Skewen)

13 Hannah Jones (Scarlets / Penybanc)

12 Robyn Wilkins (Ospreys / Llandaff North)

11 Elen Evans (Scarlets / Caernarfon)

10 Elinor Snowsill (Dragons / Bristol)

9 Keira Bevan; (Ospreys/ Skewen)

1 Megan York (Dragons / Ynysddu)

2 Carys Phillips (Ospreys/ Skewen – Capt)

3 Amy Evans (Ospreys / Skewen)

4 Rebecca Rowe (Dragons / Richmond)

5 Siwan Lillicrap (Ospreys/ Skewen)

6 Sian Williams (Dragons / Worcester)

7 Alisha Butchers (Scarlets/ Penybanc)

8 Sioned Harries (Whitland/Scarlets)



16 Amy Price (Ospreys/ Skewen)

17 Catrin Edwards (Scarlets/ Llandaff North)

18 Cerys Hale (Dragons/ Pontyclun)

19 Jenny Hawkins (Llandaff North/ Scarlets)

20 Shona Powell-Hughes (Ospreys/ Skewen)

21 Bethan Dainton (Bristol/Dragons)

22 Gemma Rowland (Dragons/ Wasps)

23 Melissa Clay (Ospreys/ Pencoed)