Ospreys Team V Calvisano

The Ospreys team to face Calvisano at the Liberty Stadium - Friday 15th December - kick off 7:30pm, will be as follows:-

15. Lee Byrne

14. Nikki Walker

13. Andrew Bishop

12. James Hook

11. Shane Williams

10. Gavin Henson

9. Justin Marshall 

1. Duncan Jones (Capt)

2. Huw Bennett

3. Adam Jones

4. Alun-Wyn Jones

5. Ian Evans

6. Jonathan Thomas

7. Steven Tandy

8. Ryan Jones


16. Barry Williams

17. Cai Griffiths

18. Brent Cockbain

19. Andrew Lloyd

20. Martin Roberts

21. Shaun Connor

22. Jonny Vaughton

Comment from Head Coach, Lyn Jones: "I was pleased with last week' performance as the result was never the foregone conclusion that was presented by some commentators.  We got the upper hand early on and stayed on top of our game until things were put to bed and the threat presented by Calvisano was fully nullified.  Having said that Calvisano finished the game strongly and they will take confidence from their second half performance, whilst we were disappointed to have conceded three tries."

"Friday' game will present another challenge to the players and they will again need to be professional in order to deal with the Italian threat.  We are now in the middle of an extremely intensive period and it is important we maintain a momentum to get us through this period."

Injury and squad availability news

We have six players not available for selection due to injury:  

Paul James (chest muscle tear) is still targeting a return against the Scarlets on Boxing Day

Five players will not be available until 2007 - Richard Hibbard (shoulder), Matthew Jones (knee), Tim Evans (knee) and Craig Mitchell (knee) are targeting February returns, whilst David Bishop (knee) is hoping to be off crutches over the next week or so  

December Fixtures

Blues v Ospreys (Magners League) - Arms Park - Saturday 23rd December - kick off at 5.30pm

Ospreys v Scarlets (Magners League) - Liberty Stadium - Tuesday 26th December - kick off at 4.10pm

Ospreys v Dragons (Magners League) - Liberty Stadium - Sunday 31st December - kick off at 2.10pm