Ospreys team to play Leinster

Team for Friday night's Heineken Cup clash against Leinster is confirmed


The Ospreys team to play Leinster at the RDS Showground on Friday 17th January, KO 8.00pm, is as follows:


15 Sam Davies

14 Jeff Hassler

13 Jonathan Spratt

12 Ben John

11 Aisea Natoga

10 Dan Biggar

9 Rhys Webb


1 Ryan Bevington

2 Richard Hibbard

3 Adam Jones

4 Alun Wyn Jones (Capt)

5 Ian Evans

6 Tyler Ardron

7 Justin Tipuric

8 Ryan Jones




16 Scott Baldwin

17 Marc Thomas

18 Dan Suter

19 Lloyd Peers

20 James King

21 Morgan Allen

22 Tom Habberfield

23 Matthew Morgan


Head Coach Steve Tandy said:

“We may be out of contention but we aim to be competitive in every game we play. Looking back at our fixtures throughout this competition, we have been in every game but key moments haven’t gone our way and we’ve paid the price. Those are the margins at this level. We know that we need to be more clinical, we have to take the opportunities when they present themselves or we’ll find ourselves thinking about the ‘what ifs’.

“Friday night is Ospreys versus Leinster, and regardless of our fate in the competition, or the injuries which are impacting on us, this is a rivalry which has a big history and there’s no doubt that the boys are looking forward to the contest.

“It’s an important game for us. We still have everything to play for in the PRO12 and the end of season run-in starts here. We need to build momentum, on and off the field, regardless of the off the field distractions and European disappointment, starting on Friday night.

“We’ll be looking to the senior players in the squad, those who go away with Wales after the weekend, to put in big performances before they go into camp for two months, setting the standard for the younger boys, while there is a fantastic opportunity for those players to stake a claim for a place in the starting line-up.

“We’re a proud team, with a proud record in the PRO12, and out in Dublin, and the rest of the season starts here.”


The following players were unavailable for selection through injury:

Dmitri Arhip – Achilles

Ashley Beck - Calf

Joe Bearman - Hip

Andrew Bishop – Back

Hanno Dirksen – Thigh

Richard Fussell - Shoulder

Tom Isaacs – Ankle

Aaron Jarvis – Rib

Sam Lewis - Calf

Tom Smith – Knee

Tito Tebaldi - Ankle

Eli Walker - Hamstring


Forthcoming Fixtures

Sat 25 Jan 3.00pm KO – Exeter Chiefs v Ospreys – LV= Cup

Fri 31 Jan 7.30pm KO – Ospreys v Sale Sharks – LV= Cup

Fri 7 Feb 7.05pm KO – Ulster v Ospreys – PRO12

14/15/16 TBC – Ospreys v Benetton Treviso – PRO12

Sun 23 Feb 4.00pm KO – Ospreys v Munster – PRO12