Ospreys team to play Edinburgh

Spratt, Dirksen and Tipuric will start for the Ospreys on Sunday afternoon.


The Ospreys team to face Edinburgh at the Liberty Stadium on Sunday 21st September 2014, KO 4.00pm, is as follows:



15 Dan Evans

14 Jeff Hassler

13 Jonathan Spratt

12 Josh Matavesi

11 Hanno Dirksen

10 Dan Biggar

9 Rhys Webb


1 Nicky Smith

2 Scott Baldwin

3 Aaron Jarvis

4 Alun Wyn Jones (Capt)

5 Rynier Bernardo

6 James King

7 Justin Tipuric

8 Dan Baker




16 Sam Parry

17 Duncan Jones

18 Dmitri Arhip

19 Tyler Ardron

20 Morgan Allen

21 Martin Roberts

22 Sam Davies

23 Tom Grabham



Head Coach, Steve Tandy, commented:


“Sunday will be a test for us. Edinburgh are in a good position and have recruited well with some quality overseas players providing real depth to their squad. They’ve had a decent start to the season, with a very good win at Munster in their last away game, so we know that it’s going to be tough 80 minutes, home advantage or not.


“We’ve prepared well over this week. The Dragons win was a welcome one but we realise that the performance was far from perfect and there’s still a lot of work to do. The desire in this group is unquestionable, there’s a real will to do the shirt justice and a pride in the Ospreys badge, and I think supporters can identify with that.


“It’s a young squad but we are heading in the right direction. We know there’ll be peaks and troughs over the course of the season as they get that valuable experience under their belts, and there’s a responsibility on the shoulders of people like Dan, Alun Wyn and Justin to help carry them through the sticky periods. 


“Supporters can also play their part. It’s important that they get behind the team when they need them and are patient when things aren’t going our way as will inevitably be the case at times. We are all working hard to make the Ospreys successful, not just for this week or next week, but for the long term, and the experiences of this season will help to shape this talented young group.”



The following players were unavailable for selection through injury:


Ashley Beck - Hip

Ryan Bevington - Groin

Sam Lewis - Knee

Lloyd Peers - Hamstring

Tom Smith - Knee

Eli Walker - Shoulder



Forthcoming Fixtures


Sat 27 Sep - 6.30pm KO - Munster v Ospreys - Thomond Park - PRO12

Fri 03 Oct - 7.35pm KO - Zebre v Ospreys - Stadio XXV Aprile - PRO12

Sun 12 Oct - 4.00pm KO - Ospreys v Cardiff Blues - Liberty Stadium - PRO12

Sun 18 Oct - 1.00pm KO - Ospreys v Treviso - Liberty Stadium - ERCC

Sat 25 Oct - 5.15pm KO - Northampton Saints - Franklin’s Gardens - ERCC

Fri 31 Oct - 7.35pm KO - Ospreys v Connacht - Liberty Stadium - PRO12