Ospreys team to play Connacht

Tandy names team form final PRO12 of the season, against Connacht at the Liberty Stadium on Saturday at 6.30pm.



The Ospreys team to play Connacht at Liberty Stadium on Saturday 10th May 2014, KO 6.30pm, is as follows:


15 Sam Davies

14 Hanno Dirksen

13 Ashley Beck

12 Andrew Bishop

11 Jeff Hassler

10 Dan Biggar

9 Tom Habberfield


1 Nicky Smith

2 Scott Baldwin

3 Aaron Jarvis

4 Alun Wyn Jones (Capt)

5 Ian Evans

6 Sam Lewis

7 Justin Tipuric

8 Dan Baker





16 Scott Otten

17 Marc Thomas

18 Adam Jones

19 Tyler Ardron

20 Joe Bearman

21 Tito Tebaldi

22 Jonathan Spratt

23 Aisea Natoga




Head Coach Steve Tandy said:


“It’s extremely disappointing that we go into Saturday’s game unable to finish in the top four, but that doesn’t mean that there is nothing to play for. It’s important that we prepare for the match with the right attitude and target a positive finish to the season in front of our supporters who have been excellent all year again.


“To miss out on the play-offs is incredibly frustrating, but we’ve got to use that feeling as motivation to kick on. This is a young group of players and for many of them, they wouldn’t have felt disappointment like they did last weekend, but it is all part of the development process and they will learn from this.


“It’s been a difficult year, a transition period, but we will be in a stronger place for the experience. With some real prospects coming through the ranks who have benefited from their involvement this season and the additions we have made for next year, I’m genuinely excited about what we can do. We know that we are up against it in terms of finances and funding when we compare ourselves to other teams, but a winning combination isn’t just about money. With the right mix of people and the right attitude, we can continue to be competitive and not just be the best in Wales but go above and beyond that.


“Saturday is the start of that process and our aim is to put in a performance that our supporters can be proud of, showing what we are capable of ahead of next season and the new challenges ahead.”


The following players were unavailable for selection through injury:


Dmitri Arhip – Achilles

Ryan Bevington - Groin

Richard Hibbard - Shoulder

Tom Isaacs – Ankle

Ben John - Shoulder

Duncan Jones - Shoulder

James King - Ankle

Lloyd Peers - Shoulder

Tom Smith - Knee

Eli Walker - Hamstring

Rhys Webb - Knee

Sam Williams - Shoulder