Ospreys team to face Viadana

The Ospreys team to face Viadana in the Heineken Cup on Saturday 19th December 2009 at the Liberty Stadium, kick off at 2.30pm, will be as follows:-

15 Gareth Owen
14 Tommy Bowe
13 Sonny Parker
12 Andrew Bishop
11 Nikki Walker
10 Dan Biggar
9 Ricky Januarie

1 Paul James
2 Richard Hibbard
3 Craig Mitchell
4 Alun-Wyn Jones
5 Jonathan Thomas
6 Jerry Collins (Capt)
7 Marty Holah
8 Filo Tiatia

16 Huw Bennett
17 Cai Griffiths
18 Adam Jones
19 Ian Evans
20 Ryan Jones
21 Jamie Nutbrown
22 James Hook
23 Jonathan Spratt

Ospreys Director of Coaching, Scott Johnson, commented:

“Looking back at last weekend, we have to be reasonably happy with the way things went, particularly how the scoreboard looked at the final whistle, but if we consider our performance objectively we realise that there is plenty to work on ahead of Saturday. It was the result that we wanted, what is important now is that we don’t let our hard work go to waste this weekend.

“We’re at the halfway stage of the pool. There are three games over the coming month that will each provide their own unique challenge, with Viadana on Saturday the first one, and we know that we will have to hit the highest standard in each of the three games if we are going to have any hope of progressing in the competition.

“We weren’t particularly happy with the way the first 20 went out there, we found it difficult to take control of the game, so it is clear that if we don’t start the game firing properly then they will be looking to take advantage. They showed last week what they are capable of if allowed to play, they worked hard to put us off our stride and certainly contested hard in certain areas of the game. Their try showed that if we give them any space whatsoever they will take advantage of it, so we now that we need to keep concentration levels high.

“The attitude of the squad this week has been first rate. They know that they had to work hard for the win last weekend, they realise that although we are improving as a team there is still some way to go, but they are prepared to put that effort in to get there, which is very pleasing to see as a coach.

“The strength of our squad has been tested to its limit in this competition, so it’s good to see the likes of Adam, Ian and Ryan among the replacements. These are experienced players and proven competitors at the highest level, so we know what they will be bringing to the table over the next couple of months. We are delighted to welcome them back into the squad and look forward to seeing them back in an Ospreys shirt again.”

The following players were not considered because of injury

Duncan Jones – broken bone in foot

Barry Davies – groin

Shane Williams – torn hamstring

Mike Phillips - ankle ligament

Tom Isaacs - shoulder reconstruction

Conor McInerney - knee

Lee Byrne - ligament damage to right foot

Lyndon Bateman - knee

Forthcoming Fixtures
Sat 26th Dec – Scarlets V Ospreys – Magners League – Parc y Scarlets – 2.05pm
Fri 1st Jan – Ospreys V Cardiff Blues – Magners League – Liberty Stadium – 5.15pm
Fri 8th Jan – Ulster V Ospreys – Magners League – Ravenhill – 7.05pm