Rhys Webb

Ospreys team to face the Scarlets

The Ospreys have named their team to face the Scarlets on New Year’s Day at Parc Y Scarlets, K.O 5:15pm.

Keelan Giles returns to the starting line-up for the first time since April 2021, joining Luke Morgan and Dan Evans. Owen Watkin and Michael Collins form the centre partnership with Josh Thomas holding the keys to the number 10 shirt alongside Rhys Webb as scrum half and Captain. Matthew Aubrey, Joe Hawkins and Keiran Williams provide the cover off the bench.

Up front, Nicky Smith, Elvis Taione and Tomas Francis form the front row with Will Griffiths and Adam Beard in the second. Ethan Roots, Jac Morgan and Morgan Morris complete the starting pack. Dewi Lake also makes his return and named on the bench alongside fellow front row cover Gareth Thomas and Tom Botha. Sam Cross and Lloyd Ashley complete the matchday 23. 

15. Dan Evans

14. Keelan Giles

13. Michael Collins

12. Owen Watkin

11. Luke Morgan

10. Josh Thomas

9. Rhys Webb ©


1.Nicky Smith

2.Elvis Taione

3. Tomas Francis

4. Will Griffiths

5. Adam Beard

6. Ethan Roots

7. Jac Morgan

8. Morgan Morris


16. Dewi Lake

17. Gareth Thomas

18. Tom Botha

19. Lloyd Ashley

20. Sam Cross

21. Matthew Aubrey

22. Joe Hawkins

23. Keiran Williams


Head Coach Toby Booth said: “We are really excited about this game, we have had a long time without any rugby, but the opportunity to get back out there and do what we are paid to do and love to do is what we are all looking forward to.

“We talk about the opportunity to play against the Scarlets and it is a very special occasion.  We have some coaches with history with this game and they have driven that message.

“Duncan Jones, Richard Fussell and Richie Pugh, for example, know the history of this fixture and the URC remind us how long it is since we have beaten them. So from that point of view there is enough motivation for us all.”