Morgan Morris

Ospreys team to face Sale Sharks

Ospreys have named their team to take on Sale Sharks at the AJ Bell Stadium on Sunday afternoon in the Heineken Champions Cup, K.O 1pm.

Reuben Morgan Williams will make his 50th appearance for the Ospreys on Sunday afternoon where he lines up alongside Josh Thomas as the half back pairing. Luke Morgan, Mat Protheroe and Dan Evans form the back three. Michael Collins and last week's try scorer Keiran Williams line up in the centre.

Adam Beard takes the reigns as Captain partnering Lloyd Ashley in the second row. Harri Deaves will make his Ospreys and European Champions Cup debut lining up with Sam Cross and Ethan Roots in the back row. Nicky Smith, Dewi Lake and Tom Botha complete the starting pack. 

Off the bench, Tiaan Thomas Wheeler will also make his 50th appearance for the Ospreys with Huw Sutton set to make his Ospreys and Champions Cup debut. Rhodri Jones returns to provide the front row cover alongside Rhys Henry who will make his Champions Cup Debut. Elvis Taione and Morgan Morris complete the forward contingent off the bench. Matthew Aubrey and Joe Hawkins provide the back line cover.


15. Dan Evans

14. Mat Protheroe

13. Michael Collins

12. Keiran Williams

11. Luke Morgan

10. Josh Thomas

9. Reuben Morgan-Williams


1.Nicky Smith

2. Dewi Lake

3. Tom Botha

4. Lloyd Ashley

5. Adam Beard

6. Sam Cross

7. Harri Deaves

8. Ethan Roots


16. Elvis Taione

17. Rhodri Jones

18. Rhys Henry

19. Huw Sutton

20. Morgan Morris

21. Matthew Aubrey

22. Tiaan Thomas Wheeler

23. Joe Hawkins


Toby Booth, Ospreys Head coach, said: 

“Sale are big and strong, there are lots of South African accents, they enjoy the collisions and they attack the breakdown.

“It’s nothing we didn’t know already from my time in England, but Sale pride themselves on being very efficient in how they play.

"We know we need to be very good in our set-piece and at the breakdown.”