Rhys Webb

Ospreys team to face Racing 92

The Ospreys have named their team to face Racing 92 at the Swansea.com Stadium on Saturday afternoon, K.O 3:15pm.

 Rhys Webb returns to the Captain role and lines up alongside Gareth Anscombe at outside half. Keiran Williams returns to the starting line-up partnering Owen Watkin in the centre. Mat Protheroe moves to the fullback shirt with Luke Morgan and Alex Cuthbert on the wings.

Up front Gareth Thomas, Dewi Lake and Tomas Francis form the front row with Rhys Davies and Adam Beard in the second. Will Griffiths, Jac Morgan and Ethan Roots complete the starting pack.

Will Hickey will make his Ospreys and European debut off the bench, with Sam Cross also covering the back-row. Elvis Taione, Nicky Smith and Ma'afu Fia provide the front-row cover. Reuben Morgan-Williams, Josh Thomas and Michael Collins complete the matchday 23. 

15. Mat Protheroe

14. Alex Cuthbert

13.Owen Watkin

12. Keiran Williams

11. Luke Morgan

10. Gareth Anscombe

9. Rhys Webb ©


1.Gareth Thomas

2. Dewi Lake

3. Tomas Francis

4. Rhys Davies

5. Adam Beard

6. Will Griffiths

7. Jac Morgan

8. Ethan Roots


16. Elvis Taione

17. Nicky Smith

18. Ma’afu Fia

19. Will Hickey

20. Sam Cross

21. Reuben Morgan-Williams

22. Josh Thomas

23. Michael Collins

Toby Booth, Ospreys Head coach, said: 

“It is the battle of the budgets for sure. Racing are on record of saying how seriously they are taking this competition and they are not afraid to shy away from that.

“Traditionally, sometimes the teams that travel from France are not always their strongest, but this is going to be as good as they have got. From last week’s selection they are all fit and we are expecting the best team possible.

“We have got what we have got, with a lot of young players and this is a learning and challenging opportunity for our youngsters. We will be better for it, win, lose or draw.”