Ospreys team to face Munster

The Ospreys team to face Munster in the Magners League on Saturday 5th December 2009 at the Liberty Stadium, kick off at 6.30pm, will be as follows:-

15 Gareth Owen
14 Tommy Bowe
13 Sonny Parker
12 Andrew Bishop
11 Nikki Walker
10 Dan Biggar
9 Liam Davies

1 Duncan Jones
2 Richard Hibbard
3 Craig Mitchell
4 Alun-wyn Jones
5 Jonathan Thomas
6 Jerry Collins (Capt)
7 Marty Holah
8 Filo Tiatia

16 Huw Bennett
17 Paul James
18 Cai Griffiths
19 Andy Lloyd
20 Ben Lewis
21 Rhys Webb
22 James Hook

Ospreys Coach Sean Holley commented:

“December and January is a very big period for us. We’ve got some crucial games that will dictate where the rest of our season goes, in terms of Heineken Cup progression and our hopes of ensuring a top four finish in the Magners League to secure a place in the Play-Offs. It’s a big couple of months for us, the players and all of us at the region know that. And it all starts on Saturday.

“You want to put yourself in a position where you get into these two months with a lot to play for. We have put ourselves in a strong position in Europe and are there or thereabouts in the Magners, and as we know any run of form in that can shoot you up the table.

“At this time of the year we also have to deal with the reintegration into this environment of a dozen players who have been away for a month with their national set-ups, which brings with it its own difficulties. But, with the injuries we’ve got here at the moment, it’s a welcome boost for us to be able welcome back players of real quality. Selection has been made with a few things in mind, we need to send out a team that will be competitive against Munster while taking into account the heavy workload that some of the international boys have had over the last month, and the big games that we’ve got coming up over the next few months.

“Munster will always provide a tough challenge, whatever the occasion, so we know that we’ll have to be at the top of our game if we are going to match them. We want to get this crucial period off to a good start, so a good performance is essential. They’ve named a strong squad for the visit, so it clear that they are also looking at this game as an important one, and I think it’s a great one to get us back into the swing of things after a few weeks without a match.”

The following players were not considered because of injury

Adam Jones – shoulder

Ian Gough – ribs

Jonathan Spratt – back

Ian Evans - torn pec major tendon

Steve Tandy – groin

Tom Smith – hamstring

Ryan Jones – back spasm

Barry Davies – groin

Shane Williams – torn hamstring

Mike Phillips - ankle ligament

Jamie Nutbrown - cruciate/medial collateral ligament

Tom Isaacs - shoulder reconstruction

Conor McInerney - knee

Lee Byrne - ligament damage to right foot

Lyndon Bateman - knee

Forthcoming Fixtures

Sat 5th Dec – Ospreys V Munster – Magners League – Liberty Stadium – 6.30pm
Sat 12th Dec – Viadana V Ospreys – Heineken Cup - Stadio Il Giglio – 2.30pm
Sat 19th Dec – Ospreys V Viadana – Heineken Cup – Liberty Stadium – 2.30pm
Sat 26th Dec – Scarlets V Ospreys – Magners League – Parc y Scarlets – 2.05pm
Fri 1st Jan – Ospreys V Cardiff Blues – Magners League – Liberty Stadium – 5.15pm