Ospreys team to face Benetton Treviso

The Ospreys team to play Benetton Treviso at Stadio Comunale di Monigo on Saturday 17th September 2011, kick off at 3.00pm (local time) will be as follows:

15 Richard Fussell

14 Tom Isaacs

13 Sonny Parker

12 Andrew Bishop

11 Hanno Dirksen

10 Dan Biggar

9 Rhys Webb


1 Duncan Jones

2 Mefin Davies

3 Cai Griffiths

4 Ian Gough

5 Ian Evans

6 Tom Smith

7 Justin Tipuric (Capt)

8 Jonathan Thomas


Replacements from:

Scott Baldwin

Aaron Jarvis

Joe Rees

James Goode

James King

Morgan Allen

Matthew Morgan

Kristian Phillips

Barry Davies


The following players were not considered because of injury:

Craig Cross – Knee

Tom Prydie – ACL

Gareth Owen – ACL

Nikki Walker – Medial Ligament

Ross Jones – Ankle

Joe Bearman - Minor abdominal strain

Ashley Beck - Shoulder


Forwards Coach, Jonathan Humphreys, commented:

“After two home wins we’re back on the road facing a difficult opponent who are always a tough nut to crack, particularly at home. There’s a lot of good things that we can take from the last two matches but equally, there are plenty of areas where we didn’t hit the standards we expect and so we’ve been focusing on getting that right in training this week.

“There’s a good feeling among the group at the moment but it’s important not to get carried away. Yes, it’s two from two, but that’s all it is and there’s a lot of rugby to be played yet for this group of players. If we keep working hard, concentrate on the basics, and everybody knows and understands their roles, then there’s no reason that we can’t continue to pick up wins, but that won’t happen if people don’t put in the work in training during the week.”

Forthcoming fixtures

Sun 25 Sep – Ospreys V Ulster – Liberty Stadium – RaboDirect PRO12 – 4.30pm

Fri 30 Sep – Ospreys V Connacht – Liberty Stadium – RaboDirect PRO12 – 7.30pm

Sat 8 Oct – Munster V Ospreys – Thomond Park – RaboDirect PRO12 – 7.30pm