Ospreys team to face Benetton Treviso

Tandy names his team for the opening PRO12 fixture of the new season

The Ospreys team to play Benetton Treviso at Stadio Di Monigo on Saturday 7th September, KO 7.30pm (local time) , is as follows:


15 Richard Fussell

14 Ben John

13 Andrew Bishop

12 Ashley Beck

11 Eli Walker

10 Dan Biggar

9 Tito Tebaldi


1 Ryan Bevington

2 Scott Baldwin

3 Joe Rees

4 Ryan Jones (Capt)

5 James King

6 Tom Smith

7 Sam Lewis

8 Joe Bearman



16 Richard Hibbard

17 Duncan Jones

18 Adam Jones

19 Ian Evans

20 Morgan Allen

21 Tom Grabham

22 Matthew Morgan

23 Jeff Hassler

Joe Bearman makes his 50th Ospreys appearance

Tito Tebaldi makes his full Ospreys debut

Jeff Hassler will make his full Ospreys debut if he comes off the bench 

Head Coach Steve Tandy said:

“It’s been a very long pre-season, we’ve had some boys back in since the start of June, so it’s good to be getting back into PRO12 action this weekend. It’s a tough start; Treviso beat every Welsh team at home last season, and we lost twice out there, so we know that we have to be at our best from the very first whistle.

“This time of year is an exciting one. We’ve got new faces in the group, so have the opposition, and there’s always an element of the unknown about these first few games because every club approaches the first few weeks of the season differently. As far as we are concerned, it’s crucial that we start the season better than we did last time. Three defeats early on left us with too much to do in terms of securing a top four spot, so we have to make sure we get off to a better start.

“If we can get our performance level right, if we know our roles, then we can be competitive. We’ll focus on the things that we can control, and hopefully we can build on what we did last season. We’ve got an exciting, young group of players with a fantastic attitude, who have a real pride in representing the region, and if we pull together, we can have an enjoyable season.”


The following players were unavailable for selection through injury:

Dmitri Arhip – Achilles

Hanno Dirksen – Knee

Tom Habberfield – Ankle

Dafydd Howells - Shoulder

Aaron Jarvis – Knee

Lloyd Peers – Shoulder

Rhys Webb - Knee


Forthcoming Fixtures

Sat 14 Sep 18.15 KO – Leinster v Ospreys – RaboDirect PRO12

Sat 21 Sep 18.30 KO  – Ospreys V Edinburgh – RaboDirect PRO12

Sat 28 Sep 17:00 KO – Connacht v Ospreys – RaboDirect PRO12

Fri 04 Oct 19:05 KO – Ospreys v Ulster– RaboDirect PRO12

Sat 12 Oct 18.00 KO – Ospreys v Leinster – Heineken Cup

Sun 20 Oct 12.45 KO – Northampton Saints v Ospreys – Heineken Cup