The Ospreys Squad To Face Welsh Premiership

The Ospreys squad to face Welsh Premiership Select XV on Saturday 30th August at Maesteg RFC, kick off at 4.00pm, will be as follows:-


Lee Byrne, Gareth Owen, Kristian Phillips, Nikki Walker, Shane Williams, David Bishop, Andrew Bishop, Sonny Parker, Tommy Bowe, Jonny Vaughton, James Hook, Rhys Webb, Rhodri Wells, Bryan Milne.

Ed Shervington, Cai Griffiths, Duncan Jones, Alun-wyn Jones, Ian Gough, Ian Evans, Andrew Lloyd, Jonathan Thomas, Marty Holah, Steve Tandy, Ryan Jones, Filo Tiatia, Adam Jones, Andrew Millward, Paul James, Huw Bennett.

Injury and squad availability news

The following players are not available for selection due to injury:
Tom Smith has been experiencing a slight thigh strain but is expected to be available for the Connacht game next week

Daniel Biggar has not been considered due to a shoulder injury but is expected to be available for the Connacht game next week

Ben Lewis is recovering well after undergoing ACL reconstruction surgery to his right knee and is on target for a November return

Gavin Henson is on target for an early October return to action following keyhole surgery on damaged ankle ligaments

Mike Phillips is on target for an early October return after undergoing surgery to repair damage to his anterior cruciate and medial collateral ligaments

Richard Hibbard is still currently going through rehab after he underwent minor surgery on his shoulder two weeks ago.

Lyndon Bateman has been experiencing a recurring back injury and is likely to miss the first week of the season

Coach Sean Holley commented as follows:
"Saturdays game is an important part of our pre-season preparations and another opportunity for our players to experience the new Experimental Law Variations and some competitive action. The players have worked hard throughout the Summer and have trained right the way through our two pre-season fixtures in preparation for a long season. It is also an opportunity for some of the Welsh Premiership's young talent to show what they can do and pitch themselves up against the current Regional players."

"With a chance to see so many international players in action, as well as the match between Maesteg and Bridgend, I'm sure that there'll be a good crowd and a great atmosphere to welcome us to the Old Parish Ground."

Welsh Premiership Select XV team:

15 Lee Bevan (Swansea)
14 Dan Connelly (Bridgend)
13 Adrian Thomas (Swansea)
12 Ashley Beck (Aberavon)
11 Richard Carter (Aberavon)
10 Gareth David (Bridgend)
9 Tavis Noyle (Neath)

8 Roy Pitman (Bridgend)
7 Lee Beech (Neath)
6 S.Jones (Swansea)
5 Andrew Fisher (Aberavon)
4 Neil Rownan (Swansea)
3 Craig Mitchell (Neath)
2 Mark Breeze (Aberavon)
1 Ryan Bevington (Bridgend)


16 N. Jones (Swansea)
17 N. Whyte (Aberavon)
18 N. Downes (Neath)
19 A. James (Neath)
20 K. Ruddock (Neath)
21 H. Pugh (Neath)
22 J. Jones (Bridgend)
23 S. Williams (Swansea)
24 B.Watts (Swansea)