Ospreys say thanks to departing players

The Ospreys have confirmed details of which players will not be at the Liberty Stadium next season.

Seven senior departing players were thanked for their service to the region with a presentation during the annual dinner at the Liberty Stadium on Monday evening.

The departing players are:

Tyler Ardron (64 appearances/7 tries)

Joe Bearman (101 appearances/4 tries) to Merthyr

Tom Grabham (50 appearances/8 tries)

Josh Matavesi (78 appearances/11 tries) to Newcastle Falcons

Jonathan Spratt (102 appearances/10 tries) Retiring

Dan Suter (32 appearances)

Sam Underhill (36 appearances/4 tries) to Bath

Off the field, the Ospreys are also saying farewell to Forwards Coach, Chris Gibbes (Wellington Lions), Head Strength & Conditioning Coach, Johnny Claxton (Grenoble) and senior analyst, Craig Maloney (FAW).

Managing Director, Andrew Millward, said:

“On behalf of everybody at the Ospreys, I’d like to thank each one of these individuals for their service and hard work while at the region.

“The nature of professional sport means that there is always a turnover at this time of the year with people leaving. Each one of them has contributed positively to our environment during their time as an Osprey and, no doubt, will continue to do so over the coming weeks in preparation for our semi-final against Munster.

“Having paid tribute to Jonathan Spratt on his retirement last week, it’s only right that we recognise the outstanding service of Joe Bearman, another centurion who is moving on and will be making his first steps into life post-elite level rugby.  A great character who has never given anything less than 100 per cent, he has been a role model to any youngster in how to look after yourself. We wish Joe, and the others who are leaving, all the best for their futures, in and out of rugby.”