Ospreys Premiership Select team announcement

The Ospreys Premiership Select face Nottingham in the third round of the British & Irish Cup this Sunday, K.O 3pm, at Lady Bay Stadium.

The Ospreys Premiership Select team to play Nottingham:

15. Cai Evans

14. Andrew Claypole

13. Joe Thomas

12. Rhys Williams

11. Jay Baker

10. Luke Price

9. Matthew Aubrey


1.Hugh Gustafson

2. Ifan Phillips

3. Alex Jeffries

4. James Ratti

5. Matthew Dodd

6. Joe Tomalin - Reeves

7. Will Jones (C)

8. Morgan Morris



16. Luke Davies

17. Mitchell Walsh/ Garyn Daniel

18. Dewi Lake

19. Jack Pope

20. Jay Williams

21. Harri Morgan

22. Callum Carson


Speaking ahead of the game, head coach Tom Smith said:

It’s going to be a tough test for us on Sunday up in Nottingham. They are doing well this season in the Championship and I’m sure they’re looking to continue that form in this competition.

“We’ll be looking to build on the performances in the first two rounds against Munster and Bedford. In both games we put in really good first half performances, then some of our mistakes allowed the opposition to pull away from us.

“It’s unfortunate that we’ve had to make a few changes to our squad due to some nasty  injuries to both academy and senior players, which has affected selection. However, a fair proportion of our team had  really good exposure in the Anglo Welsh competition, and I hope they take that experience into these next two games.

“It’s exciting to test ourselves against Nottingham over the next two weeks. We’ll be looking to learn from the first block and put a more complete performance together.”