Ospreys pair nominated for WRPA Awards

Dan Biggar up for Player of the Season, with fellow fly half in running for try of the year...

The Welsh Rugby PlayersAssociation has today announced the nominees for the 2014 WRPA Annual Awards.

In the running for the coveted PlayersPlayer of the Season, sponsored by Mercedes, are; Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Gareth Davies (Scarlets) and Liam Williams (Scarlets).

Both Gareth Davies and Liam Williams are also in the running for the Essentially Young Player of the Season category alongside fellow Scarlet Samson Lee.

Players from the Scarlets, Blues and Ospreys feature in the nominees for the Tiger Tiger Try of the Season. Nominees for this award are:

Alex Cuthbert, Cardiff Blues v Edinburgh: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DLMgqLkcnJ8

Matthew Morgan, Ospreys v Edinburgh: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x9Z27soqWRM

Josh Turnbull, Scarlets v Connacht: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oVW-esRB8sw

Nominated in the Sevens player of the Season category are; Sam Cross, James Davies and Lee Williams

Players who have been inducted into the prestigious WRPA Hall of Fame will be revealed on the night itself. Previous inductees have included, Iestyn Thomas, Steve Jones, Ryan Jones and Gethin Jenkins.

All the awards on the night are voted for by the players themselves, with votes collected from all the Regions and Sevens squads.

Winners will be announced at the WRPA Awards Dinner, to be held at Cardiffs City Hall on Wednesday 14th May.

WRPA president Rhys Williams said: I would like to congratulate all players who have been nominated for these Awards. The 2014 WRPA Awards promises to be another fantastic evening and, with only a few tables left to sell, we are looking forward to celebrating the achievements of our players whilst raising as much money as possible for the WRPA Benevolent Trust.

A limited number of tables are available to purchase for the Awards Dinner. Tables are priced at £750+VAT per table of 10. For further information or to make a booking please contact Lucy Morgan at the WRPA on 02920 674430 or email: lmorgan@wrpa.co.uk


Mercedes-Benz WRPA PlayersPlayer of the Season 

Dan Biggar 

Gareth Davies

Liam Williams 

Essentially WRPA Young Player of the Season

Gareth Davies 

Samson Lee 

Liam Williams

Tiger Tiger WRPA Try of the Season

Alex Cuthbert 

Matthew Morgan 

Josh Turnbull

WRPA Sevens Player of the Season

Sam Cross 

James Davies 

Lee Williams

Keep up to date with the Awards and all WRPA News on Twitter @thewrpa