The Ospreys Narrowly Miss Out On First Magners

The Ospreys narrowly miss out on their first home win of the season with a hard fought 14-9 defeat over local rivals, the Scarlets, at the Liberty Stadium on Tuesday.

In a low scoring game, full of intensity, the Ospreys leaded the way in the second half with a 6-3 at the break, but managed to turn the scores around in the second half with the only try of the game early in the second half, with the remainder of the points coming from fly-half Ceiron Thomas.

Television match official, Derek Bevan, only 5 minutes into the second half, was to then controversially award a try by Eustace.
The night did not start well for the Ospreys, with captain Brent Cockbain ruled out in the lead-up to the game with illness, meaning man-of-the-match Filo Tiatia was to take the captain's armband.

The first half had a few errors and was only broken up by three penalties. The first came from Scarlets fly-half Ceiron Thomas, before his opposite number Shaun Connor bagged two of his own to send the Ospreys into the break with a narrow lead.

After Eustace's try at the start of the second half, Thomas missed the conversion, but he made up for it with two late penalties to effectively seal the win.

Darren Daniel was sin-binned for a horrendously late challenge on Lee Byrne.

It was a defeat at the Liberty Stadium for the home team but we will be hoping to end that run next weekend when we travel to Ravenhill to take on Ulster.

The Scorers:

For Ospreys:
Pens: Connor 3
For Scarlets:

For the Scarlets:
Try: Eustace
Pens: C.Thomas 3

Yellow card: Darren Daniel (Scarlets, 71, dangerous tackle)

Ospreys: 15 Lee Byrne, 14 Stefan Terblanche, 13 Mark Taylor, 12 Andrew Bishop, 11 Jonathan Vaughton, 10 Shaun Connor, 9 Justin Marshall, 8 Filo Tiatia (c), 7 Ben Lewis, 6 Tom Smith, 5 Mike Powell, 4 Mike Collins, 3 Andrew Millward, 2 Richard Hibbard, 1 Paul James.
Replacements: 16 Barry Williams, 17 Cai Griffiths, 18 Daniel Lloyd Jones, 19 Richard Pugh, 20 Martin Roberts, 21 Gareth Owen, 22 Gavin Henson

Scarlets: 15 Morgan Stoddart, 14 Garan Evans, 13 Regan King, 12 Gavin Evans, 11 Matthew Watkins, 10 Ceiron Thomas, 9 Gavin Cattle, 8 Nathan Thomas, 7 James Bater (c), 6 Dafydd Jones, 5 Adam Eustace, 4 Vernon Cooper, 3 Deacon Manu, 2 James Hayter, 1 Iestyn Thomas.
Replacements: 16 Bruce Douglas, 17 Ken Owens, 18 Lou Reed, 19 Jonathan Edwards, 20 Liam Davies, 21 Darren Daniel, 22 Jonathan Davies.

Referee: Tim Hayes (WRU)
Touch Judges: Nigel Whitehouse (WRU), Gwyn Morris (WRU)