Ospreys name squad for Ulster match

The Ospreys have named a 24-man squad ahead of the first home game of the new Magners League season, against Ulster on Saturday evening (KO 6.30pm).

Jonathan Thomas makes a welcome return to the squad after missing almost seven months through a groin problem, whilst Tommy Bowe will be looking to become the third Ospreys Lion to return to action, joining Mike Phillips and James Hook in the 24.

The final 22 will be announced on Friday at noon.

The squad for Saturday’s match has been confirmed as:

Duncan Jones, Paul James, Cai Griffiths, Richard Hibbard, Huw Bennett, Andy Lloyd, Ian Gough, Tom Smith, Jerry Collins, Jonathan Thomas, Marty Holah, Steve Tandy, Filo Tiata, Ryan Jones


Barry Davies, Jonny Vaughton, Nikki Walker, Tommy Bowe, Jonathan Spratt, Andrew Bishop, Dan Biggar, James Hook, Jamie Nutbrown, Mike Phillips