Ospreys lead the way in RWC training squad

The Ospreys have a dozen players in Warren Gatland's 45-man preliminary Rugby World Cup training squad, with the uncapped Justin Tipuric included for the first time.

Gatland and his fellow selectors have named the 45-man squad from which 30 players will be chosen to mount Wales’ tournament challenge in New Zealand in September.

Gatland waited until the conclusion of this this afternoon’s DHL International clash with the Barbarians at the Millennium Stadium before finalising his training squad and he now has until 22nd August to reduce it further for the 2011 RWC campaign.

Training will begin in earnest for many of those named at the WRU National Centre of Excellence, the Vale Resort, Hensol, from 13th June, although the rest period will be extended to the 20th June for certain players depending on individual needs and circumstances.

The training squad will then embark on two separate and bespoke training camps in Spala, Poland from 2nd July to 11th July and from 18th July to 26th July, with players again selected for these camps based on their individual training requirements.

Wales face England at Twickenham on Saturday 6th August (Kick-off 2.30pm) in the first of three remaining RWC warm-up matches. A week later they host Martin Johnson’s team at the Millennium Stadium on Saturday 13th August, before taking on Argentina, again at home, on Saturday 20th August (both Kick-offs also 2.30pm).

Gatland’s final squad selection for 2011 RWC will be announced on Monday 22nd August, with the squad due to fly out to New Zealand on Wednesday 31st August.


Huw Bennett (Ospreys), Lloyd Burns (Dragons), Richard Hibbard (Ospreys), Matthew Rees (Scarlets).

Scott Andrews (Cardiff Blues), Ryan Bevington (Ospreys), Paul James (Ospreys), Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Adam Jones (Ospreys), Craig Mitchell (Exeter Chiefs), John Yapp (Cardiff Blues).

Luke Charteris (Dragons), Bradley Davies (Blues), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Lou Reed (Scarlets).

Gareth Delve (Melbourne Rebels), Toby Faletau (Dragons), Ryan Jones (Ospreys), Dan Lydiate (Dragons), Rob McCusker (Scarlets), Andy Powell (Sale Sharks), Jonathan Thomas (Ospreys), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Josh Turnbull (Scarlets), Sam Warburton (Blues), Martyn Williams (Blues).


Tavis Knoyle (Scarlets), Dwayne Peel (Sale Sharks), Mike Phillips (Ospreys), Richie Rees (Blues).

Stephen Jones (Scarlets), Rhys Priestland (Scarlets), Jason Tovey (Dragons), James Hook (Perpigan).

Andrew Bishop (Ospreys), Jonathan Davies (Scarlets), Gavin Henson (Unattached), Jamie Roberts (Blues).

George North (Scarlets), Aled Brew (Dragons), Morgan Stoddart (Scarlets), Scott Williams (Scarlets), Shane Williams (Ospreys).

Lee Byrne (Clermont Auvergne), Leigh Halfpenny (Blues).