Ospreys kick-off PRO12 in Treviso

The weekend dates for the RaboDirect PRO12 Season 2012/13 fixtures have now been announced, with the season kicking- off on the first weekend of September.

First up for the Ospreys is a repeat of last year’s opening fixture, away to Benetton Treviso, where the Ospreys will be hoping to avoid a repeat of last year’s first day defeat.

The team are on the road again for round two, with a visit to Dublin to face reigning PRO12 champions Leinster, before they welcome Edinburgh to the Liberty Stadium on the weekend of 20/21/22 September for the first home game of the new campaign.

There’s a first Welsh derby of the season for the Ospreys at the end of October when they host the Dragons, with the Ospreys travelling to Cardiff Arms Park to face the Blues on the final weekend before Christmas.

Christmas then sees a regional first with back-to-back fixtures between the Ospreys and the Scarlets over the festive period.

The end of season run-in sees a home game against the Blues on the first post Six Nations match followed by an away fixture versus Glasgow on the last weekend of March.

April sees the Ospreys host Leinster and then travel to the Dragons, before the final two rounds see an away fixture versus Zebre and a home game against Connacht to round off the campaign on 9/10/11 May.

The Play-Offs follow a week later then the 2013/14 RaboDirect PRO12 season concludes with the Final on the last weekend in May.

Tournament Director David Jordan commented:

“It is ten years since the competition changed to a home and away format and four years since the introduction of the end of season Play-Offs. During that time a regular season pattern has emerged and we have seen increases in both attendances and viewing figures so fans are obviously enjoying the rugby that is on offer in the RaboDirect PRO12.

“In the coming season fans in the home Unions  have the added excitement of the victorious British and Irish Lions players  returning to their clubs to look forward to as well.

“Since the inception of the competition five different teams have taken the title, although interestingly no champions have ever defended their crown, Leinster will have a challenge on their hands in the coming season.”

Click here to download the full fixture list


NOTE: All fixtures and venues are subject to change