Ospreys honoured for title win at civic

The Ospreys' RaboDirect PRO12 title-winning heroes were honoured at a civic reception in Swansea today (Wednesday)

.Steve Tandy’s squad clinched an historic fourth league title when they beat Leinster in a thrilling play-off in Dublin last May, the first team to achieve that number of wins.

Swansea Council Leader, David Phillips, and the Lord Mayor of Swansea, Councillor Dennis James, hosted the Ospreys squad at the Liberty Stadium, where they were joined by the players, coaching team, back-room staff and the region’s directors and management.

Cllr Phillips said:

“We’re delighted to be hosting the Ospreys in recognition of their title-winning season.

“Beating the European champions, Leinster, in their own back-yard in the final kept us all on the edge of our seats, but more importantly it was a wonderful achievement by the Ospreys.

“The Ospreys are great ambassadors for Swansea and the region. Their professionalism is a great example to young people.

“They have been the most successful of the Welsh regions and they look well-placed to build on this success in the coming season.”

Following the final victory last May many of the Ospreys squad were involved in the Wales tour to Australia so the reception coincides with the return of players for the start of pre-season training.

Ospreys skipper, Alun Wyn Jones, acknowledged the recognition from the City and County of Swansea, saying that everybody at the region were honoured to be able to represent the local community:

“It’s a fantastic honour to wear the black shirt of the Ospreys and we are all proud to represent the region. For me personally, this is my home region and when we lifted the trophy in Dublin we were doing it on behalf of everybody back home.

“Our first home game of the new season is just a few weeks away now, when we have to start all over again, but we are all looking forward to running out at the Liberty Stadium in front of our supporters who give us such fantastic support week in, week out. This title, and the recognition we received at the reception today, is for them.”