Ospreys announce team to face Montpellier Herault

Ospreys have named their squad to face Montpellier Herault in Round 2 of the EPCR Challenge Cup. The game will take place at the GGL Stadium and is kicking off on Sunday 17th December at 2pm French time/1pm UK time.

Morgan Morris will captain the side for the fourth successive week.

Nicky Smith starts at loosehead, with Dewi Lake lining up at hooker and Tom Botha completing the front three.

James Fender partners with Adam Beard at lock. Tristan Davies lines up at six, with Harri Deaves on the other flank and Morgan Morris starting at eight.

Reuben Morgan-Williams lines up at scrum half, with Owen Williams starting at 10. Owen Watkin starts with George North in the centres.

In the back three, Jack Walsh starts at full back, with Keelan Giles one one wing and Mat Protheroe on the other.

Starting XV:

15. Jack Walsh

14. Mat Protheroe

13. George North

12. Owen Watkin

11. Keelan Giles 

10. Owen Williams

9. Reuben Morgan-Williams



1. Nicky Smith

2. Dewi Lake

3. Tom Botha

4. James Fender

5. Adam Beard

6. Tristan Davies

7. Harri Deaves

8. Morgan Morris ©



16. Sam Parry

17. Gareth Thomas

18. Rhys Henry

19. Lewis Jones

20. Morgan Morse

21. Luke Davies

22. Dan Edwards

23. Luke Scully


Head Coach, Toby Booth, said:

“This is a good opportunity for us to go abroad and test ourselves against a French powerhouse team.

“There’s a new coaching group so we’ll be wary of a new coach bounce, but the main focus for us is on ourselves and making sure we bring the right levels of energy.”