Ospreys announce team to face Montpellier Hérault

The Ospreys have announced their team to face Montpellier Hérault in the Heineken Champions Cup on Saturday 17th December. The game kicks off at 9pm French time and 8pm UK time.

The line-up sees a first start for Owen Williams at fly-half and Justin Tipuric take the reigns as captain.

Ospreys players will be sporting the socks of their home clubs in homage to the region’s 77 teams, which are also represented in the jersey.


15. Max Nagy 

14. Alex Cuthbert

13. Mike Collins

12. Keiran Williams

11. Luke Morgan

10. Owen Williams

9. Rhys Webb


1. Gareth Thomas

2. Sam Parry

3. Tom Botha

4. Rhys Davies

5. Adam Beard

6. Ethan Roots

7. Justin Tipuric  (C)

8. Morgan Morris



16. Scott Baldwin

17. Nicky Smith

18. Tom Francis

19. Huw Sutton

20. Jac Morgan

21. Reuben Morgan-Williams

22. Jack Walsh

23. Joe Hawkins


Head coach Toby Booth said: “We have to go to Montpellier and play the French champions after the English ones and get a win in their back yard, which is going to be very difficult.

“We will need to be collision dominant and deal with their power. Watching them play London Irish, they were very powerful as a team. They put a lot of pressure on people and we need to make sure we front up in that area because they are big and powerful and we will need to match that.”