Rhys Webb

Ospreys announce team to face Edinburgh

Ospreys have named their squad to face Edinburgh in Round 17 of the BKT URC. The game will take place at the Dam Health Stadium and is kicking off on Saturday 15th April at 19:35pm.

With Justin Tipuric out through injury, Rhys Webb is set to captain the Ospreys in what will be an important game in the race for the Welsh Shield.

Gareth Thomas starts at loosehead, with Dewi Lake lining up at hooker and Tom Botha completing the front three. Botha is set to make his 100th appearance for the Ospreys.

Adam Beard partners with Alun Wyn Jones in the second row. In the back row, Rhys Davies and Dan Lydiate line up at flanker, with Morgan Morris set to start at eight.

Rhys Webb lines up at scrum half, with Owen Williams starting at 10. Keiran Williams partners with Michael Collins in the centres.

In the back three, Iestyn Hopkins starts at full back, with George North and Luke Morgan on the wings.


Starting XV:

15. Iestyn Hopkins

14. George North

13. Michael Collins

12. Keiran Williams

11. Luke Morgan

10. Owen Williams

9. Rhys Webb



1. Gareth Thomas

2. Dewi Lake

3. Tom Botha (100th appearance)

4. Adam Beard

5. Alun Wyn Jones

6. Rhys Davies

7. Dan Lydiate

8. Morgan Morris




16. Sam Parry

17. Nicky Smith

18. Tomas Francis

19. Huw Sutton

20. Ethan Roots

21. Reuben Morgan-Williams

22. Gareth Anscombe

23. Max Nagy


Head Coach, Toby Booth, said:

“Edinburgh are a tough opposition. Like us, they’re a squad filled with internationals.

“They have some great ball carriers in the back row and can cause problems around the set piece, but we have some threats of our own and we’re ready for what is set to be a hard-fought fixture.”