Ospreys announce team to face Benetton Rugby

Ospreys have named their squad to face Benetton Rugby in Round 15 of the BKT URC. The game will take place at the Swansea.com Stadium and is kicking off on Saturday 4th March at 17:15pm.

The line-up sees a few changes to the side that lost to Munster in the last round of the BKT URC.

Nicky Smith is set to captain the side in the front row, with Sam Parry returning from injury at hooker and Tom Botha completing the front three.

Rhys Davies is set to pick up his 50th cap for Ospreys, partnering with Huw Sutton in the second row. Davies was recently released from the Welsh squad for the fixture.

In the back row, Dan Lydiate returns from his injury to take up the 6 jersey, with Ethan Roots and Morgan Morris also in the starting XV.

Reuben Morgan-Williams will start at scrum half with the experienced Stephen Myler at 10.

Keiran Williams was also released from the Welsh squad for the Benetton fixture, he partners with Owen Watkins in the centre.

In the back three, Iestyn Hopkins is set to make his first start for the Ospreys at full back, with Keelan Giles and Luke Morgan on the wings.


Starting XV:

15. Iestyn Hopkins

14. Luke Morgan

13. Owen Watkin

12. Keiran Williams

11. Keelan Giles

10. Stephen Myler

9. Reuben Morgan-Williams



1. Nicky Smith ©

2. Sam Parry

3. Tom Botha

4. Rhys Davies

5. Huw Sutton

6. Dan Lydiate

7. Ethan Roots

8. Morgan Morris




16. Tom Cowan-Dickie

17. Garyn Phillips

18. Rhys Henry

19. James Fender

20. Harri Deaves

21. Matthew Aubrey

22. Jack Walsh

23. Mikey Collins


Head coach, Toby Booth, said: “Benetton are where they are in the table by no fluke, they play a very expansive game, similarly to Italy’s national team.

“The game against Munster isn’t where we set our standards, we’ll be looking for a much better performance this week.”