Ospreys announce squad to face Benetton

Ospreys have named their squad to face the Benetton in Round 7 of the BKT URC. The game will take place at the Studio Comunale di Monigo and is kicking off on Saturday 2nd December at 19:35pm UK time.

The team sees wholesale changes to the squad that beat Scarlets in the West Wales Derby last week.

Morgan Morris will captain the side for the second successive week.

Gareth Thomas starts at loosehead, with Marnus Van Der Merwe lining up at hooker and Rhys Henry completing the front three.

James Fender partners with Rhys Davies at lock. Tristan Davies lines up at six, with Harri Deaves on the other flank and Morgan Morris starting at eight.

Luke Davies lines up at scrum half, with Dan Edwards also getting his first start at 10 following on from his try scoring debut last week. Keiran Williams starts with Luke Scully in the centres. 

In the back three, Max Nagy starts at full back, with Luke Morgan and Iestyn Hopkins on the wings.

The bench sees a few young faces, including exciting prospects Harri Houston, Lewis Jones and Morgan Morse.

Owen Williams also returns to action on the bench after returning from injury.


Starting XV:

15. Max Nagy

14. Iestyn Hopkins

13. Luke Scully

12. Keiran Williams

11. Luke Morgan 

10. Dan Edwards

9. Luke Davies



1. Gareth Thomas

2. Marnus Van Der Merwe

3. Rhys Henry

4. Rhys Davies

5. James Fender

6. Tristan Davies

7. Harri Deaves

8. Morgan Morris ©



16. Ethan Lewis

17. Garyn Phillips

18. Ben Warren

19. Lewis Jones

20. Morgan Morse

21. Rewan Kruger

22. Owen Williams

23. Harri Houston


First Team Coach, Richard Fussell, said:

“Benetton are a good side at the minute, they’re sitting in sixth in the league and they’ve only lost one game so far this season.

“They’re a big, strong outfit that will be hard to break down. We know the task, but for us it’s about continuing on from our performance last week.”

We face Benetton next week as we kick off our European season. Join us