OSPARS shortlist revealed!

We asked and you nominated! And we can now reveal the people and teams who have been shortlisted for Ospreys Region Community Awards to be presented on 15th June.

The much-anticipated Ospreys Region Community Awards Nightreturns on 15th June at The Orangery in Margam Park and we’re delighted to be able to announce the shortlist for the evening’s eight awards.

Following our request for nominations they flooded in from all corners of Ospreylia with people eager to recognise the wonderful men and women that make rugby happen around our region.

With so many deserving nominees it was a hard job that faced the judging panel but they felt that the shortlisted people and teams hit all the criteria and were individuals who went above and beyond in their category.

The 2017/18 Ospreys Region Community Awards Shortlist is:

Mini and Junior Volunteer of the Year

Dean Davies – Penlan RFC

Emma Turner – Valley Ravens

Stephen Rawlings – Ystradgynlais RFC


Youth Volunteer of the Year   

Michael Dyer – Ospreys U18s

Rhian Edwards – Dulais Valley Rugby

Liam Allan – Ystradgynlais  RFC


Young Volunteer of the Year 

Michael Bevan – Aberavon

Jamie Kirkhouse – Bishopgore Comprehensive

Jacob Thomas – Tondu RFC


Women and Girls Volunteer of the Year

Becky Watkins – Morriston RFC

Adrian Howells – Seven Sisters RFC

Josh Humphries – Ospreys U18s girls  


Referee of the year

Steffan Anderson Thomas

Chris Williams

Ryan Woodbridge


Most Inspirational Person 

Tracey Balmer – Bridgend Sports RFC

Siwan Lillicrap – Swansea RFC

Linda Daniel – Dulais Valley Rugby


Team of the Year

Swansea RFC Womens

Porthcawl RFC

Bridgend Athletic Youth


Dereck “Deco” Davies Lifetime Achievement Award

Allyn Hawkes – Crynant RFC

Mike Rush – Penlan RFC

Noir James – Ystalyfera RFC


Congratulations to everyone who was nominated, and to those who made the final three in their category. We look forward to seeing you at the Awards Evening. 

If you wish to join them at the OSPARS, tickets are available by emailing jdavies@wru.wales. They cost £25 per person (including dinner, guest speakers and entertainment) and can be purchased individually or by table of ten. The deadline to book your place at the dinner is Friday 25th May so don’t miss out on what promises to be a fantastic evening, get in touch today.