Jones added to Wales squad

Rhodri Jones has been called into Wales’ summer tour squad, taking the number of 2018/19 Ospreys in the travelling squad to eight.

Jones, who replaces Exeter’s Tomas Francis, joins current Ospreys Nicky Smith, Adam Beard, Bradley Davies and Owen Watkin, as well as the incoming trio of Aled Davies, George North and Scott Williams. 

Uncapped Dragons duo Ashton Hewitt and Aaron Wainwright are also named as replacements for Josh Adams (Worcester Warriors) and Luke Charteris (Bath Rugby).

Wales’ first summer tour test against South Africa on June 2, sits outside of the June test window (Test Window: Weekends of 9/10 June, 16/17 June and 23/24 June) and English based players will not be released by Premiership Rugby for the fixture.

As a result, Adams, Francis and Charteris have been released from the squad as they were not available for the entire tour. George North and Ross Moriarty who are both returning to Wales will tour with the squad.

Following the fixture against South Africa, Wales face two tests against Argentina on June 9 and June 16 return to the U.K before the end of the test window.

Wales head coach Warren Gatland said:

"We are really disappointed that Josh, Tomas and Luke have to miss out on the opportunity to tour with Wales and play international rugby this summer. 

"It was a great opportunity for them to play for their country, press their claim in an important year and it is a shame supporters will not get to see them in the red of Wales.

"The situation is very clear for players playing in England going forward and heading into a RWC year.

"With the players unavailable to link up with the squad until the week of our second test match we have had to replace them in the squad."

In a further squad update, Josh Navidi has been ruled out of the squad with a dislocated shoulder suffered in Cardiff Blues’ European Challenge Cup victory last weekend. 

"It is a blow for Josh to pick up the injury and miss out on the summer.  He has been an important player for us over recent campaigns and has really impressed"


Wales Squad – Summer Tour 2018



Rob Evans (Scarlets) (25 Caps)

Wyn Jones (Scarlets) (8 Caps)

Nicky Smith (Ospreys) (18 Caps)

Elliot Dee (Dragons) (7 Caps)

Ryan Elias (Scarlets) (2 Caps)

Rhodri Jones (Ospreys) (16 Caps)

Samson Lee (Scarlets) (38 Caps)

Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Blues) (2 Caps)

Adam Beard (Ospreys) (2 Caps)

Bradley Davies (Ospreys) (62 Caps)

Seb Davies (Cardiff Blues) (4 Caps)

Cory Hill (Dragons) (15 Caps) (Co-Captain)

James Davies (Scarlets) (1 Cap)

Ellis Jenkins (Cardiff Blues) (6 Caps) (Co-Captain)

Ross Moriarty (Gloucester) (20 Caps)

Aaron Wainwright (Dragons) (*Uncapped)

Aaron Shingler (Scarlets) (17 Caps)`



Aled Davies (Scarlets) (8 Caps)

Gareth Davies (Scarlets) (32 Caps)

Tomos Williams (Cardiff Blues) (*Uncapped)

Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues) (15 Caps)

Rhys Patchell (Scarlets) (8 Caps)

Hadleigh Parkes (Scarlets) (55 Caps)

Owen Watkin (Ospreys) (4 Caps)

Scott Williams (Scarlets) (6 Caps)

Hallam Amos (Dragons) (15 Caps)

Steff Evans (Scarlets) (9 Caps)

Ashton Hewitt (Dragons) (*Uncapped)

George North (Northampton Saints) (73 Caps)

Tom Prydie (Scarlets) (7 Caps)