Johnno names squad for Lyon clash

The Ospreys have named a youthful squad containing a sprinkling of experience for Friday night's opening pre-season fixture against T14 newcomers Lyon in Chens Sur Leman on the French/Swiss border.

Scott Johnson and his coaching team will cast their eye over their players in a game hosted by Swiss club Hermance RRC to commemorate their 40th anniversary, a fixture that will rekindle a number of old relationships after Hermance and Swansea RFC exchanged visits during the seventies, facing each other on the rugby field several times.


Speaking ahead of the game, Director of Coaching Johnson said:


"We've taken a measured view as to where certain individuals are in their preparations for the new season and have selected accordingly.


"With a number away with their respective national squads we want to have a good look at everybody we have available and to make sure everyone gets a chance.


"Some players need another week to be ready, and they will get their time against Russia, but those selected for Friday night have an opportunity to make an early impression against difficult opponents who are a little further down the road in their preparations.


"There are a number of young kids travelling, some that people may be aware of, some that you won't. Boys who are home grown and working hard to follow in the footsteps of people like Dan Biggar, Justin Tipuric, Ryan Bevington, Ashley Beck and Rhys Webb, local boys who have come through our development pathway to represent their region.


"This is an exciting time for them and I'm enjoying working with them in pre-season. It's going to be interesting to see who takes their chance and comes through this year."


Ospreys squad




Barry Davies

Kristian Phillips

Luke Morgan

Ben John

Will Price

Sonny Parker

Dai Flanagan

Sam Davies

Matthew Morgan

Tom Grabham

Matthew Torrance




Matthew Dwyer

Arthur Ellis

Duncan Jones

Ken Dowding

Cai Griffiths

Will Taylor

Daniel Suter

Ian Evans

James Goode

Lloyd Peers

Morgan Allen 

James King

Sam Lewis

Ben Thomas