Holah appeal upheld

Appeal against two week suspension is upheld and flanker is clear to play in Heineken Cup double-header against Munster


The WRU Professional Disciplinary Panel, chaired by Roger Morris, held an appeal hearing this evening (Friday, 10th December, 2010) at the Millennium Stadium relating to citing complaints brought by the match citing commissioner John Charles against Ospreys player Marty Holah following the Magners League match against Edinburgh on Saturday, 4 December.

The complaints against Holah were for alleged breaches of Law 10.4 (d) tripping an opponent and Law 10.4 (f) playing an opponent without the ball.

The player was found guilty on both counts at the original hearing held on Tuesday (7th December), and awarded a ban for a period of two weeks from the date of the hearing, after mitigating factors were taken into account.

At the hearing this evening the Panel upheld the appeal and therefore removed the ban imposed making Holah free to play for his Region this weekend and beyond. 


A full explanation of the judgement will be available in due course.

There will be no further comment on this issue from Ospreys Rugby.


The Ospreys team to play Munster on Sunday 12th December 2010 at Thomond Park, kick off at 1.00pm, is confirmed as follows:

15 Barry Davies
14 Tommy Bowe
13 Andrew Bishop
12 James Hook
11 Richard Fussell
10 Dan Biggar
9 Mike Phillips

1 Paul James
2 Richard Hibbard
3 Adam Jones
4 Ryan Jones
5 Alun Wyn Jones (Capt)
6 Jerry Collins
7 Marty Holah
8 Jonathan Thomas

16 Mefin Davies
17 Duncan Jones
18 Craig Mitchell
19 Ian Gough
20 Justin Tipuric
21 Jamie Nutbrown
22 Sonny Parker
23 Nikki Walker