Four Ospreys named in Wales squad for match against Georgia

Four Ospreys were named in Wales' squad to face Georgia in the RWC.

George North represents the Ospreys contingent in the backs while Gareth Thomas, Dewi Lake (captain) and Nicky Smith represent the pack.

Senior men’s head coach Warren Gatland has named his Wales XV to play Georgia at Stade de la Beaujoire, Nantes in their final pool C match of Rugby World Cup 2023 (Saturday 7 October KO 2pm BST / 3pm local time live on ITV and S4C).

Wales travel to Nantes on Thursday afternoon from their team base in Versailles.

Dewi Lake captains the side at hooker and starts his second match of the tournament. Gareth Thomas (loosehead prop) and Tomas Francis (tighthead prop) join Lake in the front row.

Taulupe Faletau at No. 8 and Louis Rees-Zammit on the wing are named in the match day XV for a fourth time to start in all of Wales’ pool matches this tournament.

Tommy Reffell returns at openside flanker alongside Aaron Wainwright at blindside flanker.

Dafydd Jenkins is named in the second row to make his second start and fourth tournament appearance. He partners Will Rowlands who starts his third match of this world cup.

Gareth Anscombe, who equalled the record of most points by a Wales men’s player in a single game at a Rugby World Cup last time out with 23 (shared with Dan Biggar), starts at fly-half. Tomos Williams is at scrum-half.

Nick Tompkins and George North continue their centre partnership for the third time this competition. North is making his 19th RWC appearance in his fourth tournament.

Rio Dyer starts his second RWC match at wing. Liam Williams is named at full-back

Among Wales’ replacements Elliot Dee, Nicky Smith and Henry Thomas are the front row cover. Christ Tshiunza is in line to make his second RWC appearance and Taine Basham is the final forward replacement for the third consecutive match.

The back line cover is provided by Gareth Davies, Sam Costelow and Mason Grady.


Wales senior men’s XV to play Georgia at Stade de la Beaujoire, Nantes. Pool C, Rugby World Cup 2023. Saturday 7 October, KO 2pm BST. Live on ITV and S4C.

15. Liam Williams (Kubota Spears – 87 caps)
14. Louis Rees Zammit (Gloucester Rugby / Caerloyw – 30 caps)
13. George North (Ospreys / Gweilch – 116 caps)
12. Nick Tompkins (Saracens / Saraseniaid – 30 caps)
11. Rio Dyer (Dragons / Dreigiau – 12 caps)
10. Gareth Anscombe (Suntory Sungoliath – 37 caps)
9. Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby/ Caerdydd – 51 caps)
1. Gareth Thomas (Ospreys / Gweilch – 24 caps)
2. Dewi Lake (Ospreys / Gweilch – 10 caps) captain / capten*
3. Tomas Francis (Provence Rugby – 75 caps)
4. Will Rowlands (Racing 92 – 27 caps)
5. Dafydd Jenkins (Exeter Chiefs / Caerwysg – 10 caps)
6. Aaron Wainwright (Dragons / Dreigiau – 41 caps)
7. Tommy Reffell (Leicester Tigers / Caerlŷr – 11 caps)
8. Taulupe Faletau (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – 103 caps)

Replacements / Eilyddion
16. Elliot Dee (Dragons / Dreigiau – 45 caps)
17. Nicky Smith (Ospreys / Gweilch – 45 caps)
18. Henry Thomas (Montpellier – 3 caps)
19. Christ Tshiunza (Exeter Chiefs / Caerwysg – 8 caps)
20. Taine Basham (Dragons / Dreigiau – 15 caps)
21. Gareth Davies (Scarlets – 72 caps)
22. Sam Costelow (Scarlets – 6 caps)
23. Mason Grady (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – 5 caps)