Four Ospreys named in Magners League Dream Team

On the eve of Saturday's Magners League Grand Final, four Ospreys have been named in the 2009/10 Magners League 'Dream Team'.

Wing Tommy Bowe, centre James Hook, flanker Jerry Collins and prop Adam Jones have all been included, giving the Ospreys the largest overall representation.

Selected by a panel of 16 media experts from the three Celtic nations, who have been following the Magners League all season, the ‘Dream Team’ features players from no fewer than seven of the 10 clubs in the competition.

With Leinster also having three players named, it means that seven of the fifteen  belong to the two teams who will battle it out at the RDS for the Magners League crown on Saturday evening.

 “It can be no surprise that the top two teams in the Magners League regular season are supplying almost half of the ‘Dream Team’. They have both had excellent seasons and are set to provide us with a thrilling end in this weekend’s inaugural Grand Final,” said Celtic Rugby Director, David Jordan.

“It is interesting to see six members of the 2009 British & Irish Lions squad being included in the side and there are also seven Grand Slammers from the Welsh and Irish triumphs in 2008 and 2009.

“That shows the increasing quality within the Magners League and there is no doubt the level of competition has grown dramatically this season thanks in no small measure to the introduction of the Play-Off system.

“I know the judges had a tough task in selecting their side and as well as the many big names they have included, there are also a host of other stars who have failed to make it this time.”

This is the fourth season the Magners League Dream Team has been selected at the end of the campaign and there are some familiar names in the 2009/10 line-up. Jamie Heaslip is the only player to have appeared every year, while Bowe makes it three in a row and Blair makes the XV for the third time. Jenkins, Jones and O'Driscoll were also included in last year's team.

Michael Merrins, Managing Director, Magners said, “I would like to add our congratulations to every player who has been selected for the Magners League Dream Team. The team truly reflects this season’s competition and the players chosen represent the exciting brand of rugby played in the Magners League.”

“Once again there has been some fantastic rugby played this season and the introduction of the Play-Offs has seen the competition go from strength to strength. With seven players from the Dream Team on show tomorrow night the Grand Final promises to be a fantastic showcase for the Magners League.”


Position Name Club
15 Ben Blair Cardiff Blues
14 Tommy Bowe Ospreys
13 Brian O'Driscoll Leinster
12 James Hook Ospreys
11 Tim Visser Edinburgh
10 Dan Parks Glasgow Warriors
9 Tomas O'Leary Munster
1 Gethin Jenkins Cardiff Blues
2 Ken Owens Scarlets
3 Adam Jones Ospreys
4 Leo Cullen Leinster
5 Ali Kellock Glasgow Warriors
6 Jerry Collins Ospreys
7 John Barclay Glasgow Warriors
8 Jamie Heaslip Leinster