Difficult Decisions For Under 18 Selectors

The Young Ospreys under 18 selectors name a smaller squad than normal as they set out on the defence of their Reebok title.

Twenty six players are named and five players have been given the opportunity to join the squad and demonstrate to the coaches that they are deserving of full inclusion. Backs: Chris Lewis, Keiran Weightman, Ryan Bayliss, Liam Powell, Kristian Phillips, Ben John, Ashley Beck, Rhys Roberts, Chris Banfield, Matthew Jarvis and Anthony Buselli. Forwards: Gareth Jenkins, Jo Rees, Will Taylor, Gareth Harvey, Ceri Davies, Jonathon Vaughan, Lloyd Peers, Morgan Evans, Ben Thomas, Ashley Berrow, Bill Carey, Rhys Ruddock, Aled Thomas, Ben Howe and Scott Hicks. To attend training: Morgan Evans (Full Back), Deeke Morse, Craig BAker, Luke Myatt and Guy Jones. Former Young Osprey Under 16 Centre Rhys Llewellyn (pictured), who will be emigrating to New Zealand in August will also be involved with the squad until his departure.  The players will attend training at Court Herbert for 5.30 on Wednesday 11th July and will be involved in a team building exercise at Penally, Tenby Army Barracks on the weekend 13th to 15th July. Players are also asked to carry out two fitness sessions before attending on Wednesday 11th. Firstly a speed session of 7 x 30 metre sprints with full recovery and an endurance session of 8 x 2 minute hard runs with a minutes recovery; both sessions should be started with a suitable warm up and concluded with an appropriate cool down.